Sweet Green Bean Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
My late mother-in-law got this recipe years ago from an Iowa transplant to NW Arkansas who called them "Bean Stacks"... it has been a family get-together favorite ever since. (Some make it the easy way, without all the wrapping mess, tho.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
As most everyone has said, this is an amazing recipe: delicious, easy, beautiful presentation. It is way better with fresh green beans, steamed slightly before baking. I only make it for very special occasions though, because of the calorie count. At 608 per serving, it uses up 1/2 of my daily allotment and I haven't even looked at meat, potatoes, salad or DESSERT, let alone breakfast & lunch!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Simply awesome! I used fresh green beans and blanched them slightly and they were perfect. I did find that there was too much glazing liquid, so when I make it the second time (with frozen beans this time - also worked well), I cut the liquid and drained it well before serving. Absolutely the hit of Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Amazing and simple recipe. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
A holiday staple. I use fresh greenbeans and since i dont measure, i am sure i use more brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mickey Mouth Hess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
My daughter in law made these for us at Thanksgiving dinner. They were wonderful! Although she used minced garlic with the sugar syrup and did not cover with foil so the bacon crisped while cooking. I'm making them myself for Christmas dinner with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Very nice presentation and really good too. Many compliments when I served these at my recent dinner party. A very simple but good recipe. I did lightly pre-steam the fresh green beans and applewood bacon. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hobbycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Absolutely love this dish. Made on Thanksgiving so I was trying to do everything I could in a crockpot including this. Turned out awesome! Pre-cooked the bacon in the oven, dabbed with papertowels, chopped up then threw everything in the crockpot. Cooked on low for six hours. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Wonderfully delicious recipe! I changed my prep a bit from this recipe though. I make it even more fattening by using maple-flavored bacon as opposed to normal bacon. Before wrapping the bundles I sprinkle the brown sugar directly on the pre-cooked (fried a couple of minutes before baking) bacon. Next wrap the bundles, cover them all with melted butter, and finally lightly sprinkle more brown sugar and garlic salt. I bake without covering the pan. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Excellent. Wonderful side dish for a nice dinner party paired with steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States