Sweet Green Bean Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Did not taste like green beans. They were very sweet. Too much brown sugar though. Looked very nice and were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eleva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Make it every year! A Thanksgiving tradition at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROCKYALLOVERAGAIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lodi, Missouri, USA
Living In: Blytheville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I cannot express how much our family enjoyed these with words....but I will try. I was looking for a special veggie to go with my daughter's 16th birthday party dinner, which was a mystery murder meal. I wanted it to be a bit fancy looking, so their plates looked pretty. I bought steamer bags of green beans and steamed them about 3/4 of the way, let them cool and wrapped them in large clumps with a full slice of the Hormel fully cooked bacon. (I had to soften the bacon a few seconds in the microwave.) I didn't change the rest of the recipe, but the changes I made made it so much easier and the bacon was cooked. I had one vegetarian and I just left a pile in the corner for her without bacon. The 16 teens DEVOURED them. It was a nice looking dish of veggies. I do like to impress with food, and this one was impressive. However, I will make these alot...and I will probably just cut the Hormel bacon into bite size pieces and stir it up in the dish. We like good food, so the fancy part isn't always necessary for a fabulous, fast side dish. I also made these a day ahead so all I had to do was put them in the oven the day of the party. Thank you for a great recipe!! Yes, I made a few changes to ease my cooking process, but the recipe is still yours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
so yummy! very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiekay79
Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Like others I used fresh green beans since they were readily available at the local farmer's market. I parboiled them first and followed the recipe. It added a nice touch to an ordinary Sunday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Very good with fresh green beans blanched. Cut them up and just spread everything on top instead of wrapping to speed it up. Worked great. Only problem was I didn't make enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I also made these last night to go with the Chicken Pacifica. These were pretty good...however, the kids were not feeling them. I like it, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovableLeaLea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
These tasted good but looked unappealing. I followed the directions, except for using fresh beans. At the end of the 45 minutes, the beans were a shriveled mess. I brought them to a pot luck and hardly anyone ate them. Such a waste of fresh beans and A LOT of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garfodie81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Used fresh green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
These green bean bundles were tasty and I do not eat green beans so I think that says a lot. I used fresh green beans and I believe that made all the difference in regards to the quality of taste. I only used 3/4 cup brown sugar and it was still sweet and buttery. I will definitely make these again for the family especially since my husband went back to the dish for thirds. (: This dish would be a perfect addition for potlucks, BBQ's, holiday dinners, etc. You could also prepare the bundles the day before your event then add the sauce and bake the day of. This recipe is worth your time and I hope that everyone gives it a try at least once... especially for the individuals (like me) that don't (normally) eat green beans. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States