Sweet Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I'm glad I found this recipe. It was delicious. My Littles ate every bite. After adding the egg, I let the sugar mixture cook to caramelize slightly before adding the milk (which I suggest warming a bit). I added a teaspoon of cinnamon at the end. I won't be able to make this recipe on a busy morning, but I could reheat it after making it over the weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
In my family this is Eggaruda! Its a swedish sweet gravy. I can still remember my grandma slowly stirring it saying,"eggs and milk, milk and eggs what could be better for a girl and boy!!" Love this stuff!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I love this! A little to sweet but great! I made sweet potato shepherds pie and poured this on top it was sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This was a family tradition whenever I went to my grandparents. Grandma made it without the egg though, and we always put it on toast so we called it "sweet toast". Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy Branson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
So I made this just little bit ago for my lunch (yeah, I know). I'm just gonna say it now.... this gravy is kinda weird! But I LOVE IT!! I accidentally burned sugar, but it still was great! I spooned it over hamburger buns and regular white bread. OMGOSH! I ate so much!! This is delicious and I still have a lot left over! Great recipe. I'm gonna make this again! :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This is AMAZING! I did add a little extra flour and milk to tone down the flavor, because the recipe as written was actually too sweet for me. I followed D89Buttons's advise and added cinnamon, and I completely agree: it made the biscuits taste like cinnamon rolls. SUPER DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
same things as Chocolate Gravy only white
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I am surprised that no one has mentioned that this is a basic custard sauce recipe! Someone's grandma probably called it "gravy" to get the kids to eat it! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
My mom use to make this for us without the egg or vanilla. She put nutmeg or cinnomon on top and we just called it thickened milk. We loved it for breakfast. My sister and I still love it for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This is great as a topping for bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States