Sweet Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
My mom used to make this when I was a kid. I've been looking for this recipe for a while now. It was just as good I I remembered it. Thanks for sharing it's GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2busymom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tecumseh, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Macomb, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This is great as a topping for bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Oh, busymom, how happy I am that I found this! My mom used to make this on cold mornings for us 7 kids in the 60s. I have asked cooks for years if they've ever had it and no one had. I sent this recipe to all of my sibs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was GREAT!! I was making biscuits and gravy for the kids and realized I didn't have any sausage. Unsure of what to do then, I came across this recipe. I have never had a "sweet" gravy before but figured, what the heck. OMG!!! I added some cinnamon to the mix and I swear it tasted like we were eating cinnamon rolls!! I was dying to find out what else I could dunk in this "gravy"...I have to say that this made WAY too much for 3 of us to eat, you know since I didn't pay attention to the serving size. It is SOOO sweet that you can't eat too much of it at once though. But I will make this again for sure...just half sized!! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D89BUTTONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This is AMAZING! I did add a little extra flour and milk to tone down the flavor, because the recipe as written was actually too sweet for me. I followed D89Buttons's advise and added cinnamon, and I completely agree: it made the biscuits taste like cinnamon rolls. SUPER DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
My mom use to make this for us without the egg or vanilla. She put nutmeg or cinnomon on top and we just called it thickened milk. We loved it for breakfast. My sister and I still love it for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
So I made this just little bit ago for my lunch (yeah, I know). I'm just gonna say it now.... this gravy is kinda weird! But I LOVE IT!! I accidentally burned sugar, but it still was great! I spooned it over hamburger buns and regular white bread. OMGOSH! I ate so much!! This is delicious and I still have a lot left over! Great recipe. I'm gonna make this again! :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This was a family tradition whenever I went to my grandparents. Grandma made it without the egg though, and we always put it on toast so we called it "sweet toast". Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy Branson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I love this! A little to sweet but great! I made sweet potato shepherds pie and poured this on top it was sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
i have been looking for the recipe for the longest time....my my grandma used to make this for us every time we spent the night....I love it lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States