Sweet Fried Summer Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
My family loved these! And a great way to use all those garden squash. Not low-calorie, but delicious! Janet Blaha, Oregon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Excellent recipe, I just added salt and pepper to the squash before I dredged in the flour. This is the way my mother made squash when I was a child. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Simple and tasty. My garden squash are coming in quickly and needed a recipe that was quick to prepare. Added a dash of onion and garlic powder to the flour. However, sauteed in 1 tablespoon butter and 2 tablespoons of EVOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
VERY tasty! It's the best when eaten fresh though, and not reheated later. I will want to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Oh, my gosh! YUMMY! I did like someone suggested and battered it in cornmeal, salt and pepper instead! WOW! I didn't make near enough!! All my guys - husband too - wanted me to double, no triple this for next time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This was YUMMY! I've done the salt/pepper/cornmeal many times over and thought this was a very nice compliment to the squash. I did cook mine longer than "golden brown" though, I liked it crunchy! Being from the mid-west, I am not afraid to eat me some shortening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
At first I didn't like this, but as the first batch turned to the third, then fifth, then eigth...We liked it. I found that I needed to keep adding shortening. I also cut the slices thinner and added cooking time to make it more crispy. My husband loved this and so did I. He preferred them dark brown, they were like potato chips! I will say, when they sit, they get soggy so make them and eat them. They really are great. I will make again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolate Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I will definately try this and also the other readers way with cornmeal. I have fried the squash (diced) with diced zucchini, diced onions, salt and pepper and my family loves it this way. So will try some new ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
this was a hit at the meeting i went to. everyone just loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
very tasty. I also added a smidge of cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States