Sweet Fried Summer Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I am not going to badmouth this recipe too badly. The idea behind it is fantastic, but the subtle sweetness of squash is what makes it a summertime favorite and the amount of sugar in this recipe blankets that natural sweetness in the squash with an overwhelming sweetness that makes this dish almost a dessert as is. If you half or quarter the amount of sugar and maybe replace it with a little cornmeal, this fried squash is simple and amazing. This way the sugar carmelizes and accentuates the squash rather than candy coating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I usually make fried squash the traditional southern way, dredging first in milk/egg mixture, then in corn meal. Tonight I was out of eggs, so found this recipe and it turned out nicely. While I still prefer my traditional version, I wouldn't hesitate to make this again for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Too greasy for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Just didn't add any taste. More like oily little pieces of squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SELUNE13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and it was great. I also made a batch extra crispy and didn't like that as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stepperanddaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
My family loved these! And a great way to use all those garden squash. Not low-calorie, but delicious! Janet Blaha, Oregon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
At first I didn't like this, but as the first batch turned to the third, then fifth, then eigth...We liked it. I found that I needed to keep adding shortening. I also cut the slices thinner and added cooking time to make it more crispy. My husband loved this and so did I. He preferred them dark brown, they were like potato chips! I will say, when they sit, they get soggy so make them and eat them. They really are great. I will make again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolate Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I did not care for the sugar in it. If I made it again, I would leave the sugar out. I think it would be good without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Thayer, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
VERY tasty! It's the best when eaten fresh though, and not reheated later. I will want to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
very tasty. I also added a smidge of cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States