Sweet Fried Summer Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I am not going to badmouth this recipe too badly. The idea behind it is fantastic, but the subtle sweetness of squash is what makes it a summertime favorite and the amount of sugar in this recipe blankets that natural sweetness in the squash with an overwhelming sweetness that makes this dish almost a dessert as is. If you half or quarter the amount of sugar and maybe replace it with a little cornmeal, this fried squash is simple and amazing. This way the sugar carmelizes and accentuates the squash rather than candy coating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Oh, my gosh! YUMMY! I did like someone suggested and battered it in cornmeal, salt and pepper instead! WOW! I didn't make near enough!! All my guys - husband too - wanted me to double, no triple this for next time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Sounds good! I make something similar, except I dice the squash, dredge in cornmeal, salt, and pepper. Then I fry in olive oil. Delicious! There are never any leftovers no matter how much I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I grew up in the south and this was a summer staple for us. My favorite way to do it is to use dry pancake mix instead of the flour. It adds a little extra sweetness without being overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I usually make fried squash the traditional southern way, dredging first in milk/egg mixture, then in corn meal. Tonight I was out of eggs, so found this recipe and it turned out nicely. While I still prefer my traditional version, I wouldn't hesitate to make this again for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Simple and tasty. My garden squash are coming in quickly and needed a recipe that was quick to prepare. Added a dash of onion and garlic powder to the flour. However, sauteed in 1 tablespoon butter and 2 tablespoons of EVOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Very nice recipe. I changed things a little by adding a little more salt and some pepper to the flour mix. I also added a little paprika. I used olive oil in a skillet and also used canola oil in a deep fryer. The olive oil came out the best. Lastly I topped my with some churizo. The sweet and spicy play was amazing. Good job on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Excellent recipe, I just added salt and pepper to the squash before I dredged in the flour. This is the way my mother made squash when I was a child. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
At first I didn't like this, but as the first batch turned to the third, then fifth, then eigth...We liked it. I found that I needed to keep adding shortening. I also cut the slices thinner and added cooking time to make it more crispy. My husband loved this and so did I. He preferred them dark brown, they were like potato chips! I will say, when they sit, they get soggy so make them and eat them. They really are great. I will make again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolate Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This was YUMMY! I've done the salt/pepper/cornmeal many times over and thought this was a very nice compliment to the squash. I did cook mine longer than "golden brown" though, I liked it crunchy! Being from the mid-west, I am not afraid to eat me some shortening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States