Sweet Fried Summer Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Good recipe. I cut back the sugar by 1/2, and added 1/4 cup of cornmeal and a dash of kosher salt like a previous reviewer mentioned. Was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason A. Hendricks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I have been picking squash out of my garden every night. Tried this recipe tonight. Easy to prepare and tastes Excellelent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
The amount of sugar was overpowering and made the squash's flavor completely different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
The way most of the reviews on here show, is a whole new recipe. I think that changing anything would be to use brown sugar instead of white. Otherwise, omitting sugar of any kind and adding other ingredients is a whole new recipe. Just saying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealasgram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
These are so good! It's not like eating squash at all, (in fact, I have to wonder if it negates the nutritional value of the vegetable, but at the same time, it's so good that I don't care) it's more like candy! I have done them twice and while we prefer them fried in olive oil, doing them in canola in the deep fryer is so much easier. I put the dry ingredients in a zip lock and coated the squash that way and then stuck them in small batches in the fryer for about 7 minutes, stirring them up about four minutes in. Also, I found that putting additional salt on them when they first come out of the fryer, brings out the sweetness. Really good reheated in the microwave for about 20 seconds, as long as they are caramelized nicely when you fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
It was ok. I don't think I like the sweetness. I might try fried squash again but make it more savory instead of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
keep it simple, tasty & healthy. fry the sliced squash without all that stuff in a bit of olive oil till golden brown. toss in bowl with garlic slices. add balsamic vinegar to oil in pan, heat & pour over squash. trust me you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I've always made these living in the south-leave out the sugar completely-you don't need it. Just cut thin & give squash time to release it's moisture-so flour will stick (not long at all) salt & pepper to taste before you flour), & then fry in a deep fryer in vegetable oil until golden brown.Drain on paper towel & eat while still hot-so good. I promise! You can use up your abundance of zukes & make zuke fries using this same recipe just cut into fry shapes & remove seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I ended up having to tweak things so much that it was an entirely different recipe by the time I was done with it. When I followed it exactly, we had mushy squash with a too-sweet grainy coating. After frying one up, I added cornmeal, some more flour and salt, and double-dipped the squash in egg and the flour mixture, and got a nice, thick, crunchy crust that was perfect. It was a good base, but definitely liked my version better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyladycc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I'm putting this in my rotation. I love squash and this was so much easier than dipping in egg and getting your hands all sticky. I also decreased the sugar to 1/4c and instead of a pinch of salt I added 1/4 tsp and then salted them right when they came out of the oil. I fried them in a deep fryer and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States