Sweet Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
WONDERFUL. Follow the recipe exactly, do not skimp on the butter you brush on, it makes the rolls softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Super recipe, will make again! Used kitchen aid mixer and proofed yeast. Then added the rest of the wet ingredients and added the dry ingredients on top in 3 batches mixing in between. Worked perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Dan's old fashion recipe is super, but this one is superb. I made a loaf of bread using this recipe and it came out very close to store bought. The only change I made was using 1 cup of milk instead of and 1/2 water. Great recipe. Made rolls with it too and they came out like store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Made this many times and it is, by far, my family's favorite! I don't use a bread machine - just warm milk/water/melt butter and then add yeast and let dissolve, pour into the Kitchen Aid mixer and add dry ingredients. One rise for about an hour or so, then make simple rolls and let rise another 1/2 hr or so. Bake and then cover with melted butter. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This is the first dinner roll recipe I've made that didn't turn out flat! I followed the recipe exactly except I used Red Star instant rise yeast (about 80% of what was called for) and it turned out beautifully. I did make the crescents, and honestly, they are so easy to make. (just watch the video) It's really just as easy as making them into balls. My family was so excited because I try to make dinner rolls every once in a while, and they almost inevitably turn out flat (and/or hard) These were (according to my husband) "as good as O'Charley's" (which is the gold standard of dinner rolls in my house. I am basking in yummy dinner roll glory. (although it did throw me off my diet!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I doubled the recipe, and did everything in my KitchenAid. The milk and water mixture was a little too warm so I poured it in the KitchenAid bowl over the sugar and let it cool while the sugar dissolved. I mixed the softened butter, eggs and salt in a separate bowl, then added to the proofed/activated yeast mixture. I added the flour 1 cup at a time while the KitchenAid mixed it with the dough hook. I let the kitchen aid need the dough for about eight minutes. I turned the dough out onto a floured surface and divided into four equal balls, then roll each one out into a 12 to 14 inch circle. I brushed them with melted butter and formed them into the croissant shapes, place them on cookie sheets and let them rise for an hour. I bake them at 350° for 10-15 minutes and they turned out perfect!! I brushed melted butter over each one of them twice just to make them extra buttery. So delicious!!! I have to grab one right out of the oven or I don't get any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Best rolls I've ever made! I don't have a bread maker anymore so I made this in my kitchen aid. I also didn't bother rolling them out into crescents either, I just rolled them into about 20 little rolls and let them rise the second time right on the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Tks for this great recipe, just tried it today and the rolls were so soft and aromatic. And I did put in some filling and also made some into cinnamon rolls. Came out lovely just like Cinnabons. I didn't use my bread maker to mix the dough but just regular mixer and still the dough was really soft to the touch minus the extra tackiness of the other recipes I tried. And I didn't even have to use much flour to knead before prooving it. This is for keeps for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
OMG!!!! This was the first time I've ever made homemade rolls of any kind and was blown by how simple and delicious this recipe was. I learned patience "is" rewarding! While I meant to make these in time for dinner...they turned out to be a midnight snack...which reminded my husband and I of a favorite movie..."As Good As It Gets" which happens to have a scene about getting to the bakers in the wee hours of the morning to get fresh hot rolls. I added a tiny bit more sugar and what I imagined it would taste like was exact. I also used organic all purpose flour, which I don't know if it made a difference or not (too inexperienced in baking to know the difference)the result though was a tender, lovely texture and color, sweet roll. Added a bit of butter to the hot roll and yum! There are only 5 rolls left since last night. Thank you for this recipe it will be a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
It's wonderful. Have even used it as a bread recipe. Cut back on the sugar. It's the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States