Sweet Cornbread Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DaniBabii
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
GREAT CORNBREAD RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniBabii

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I was a little skittish to try this recipe because the lack of reviews but man, am I glad I did! This cornbread is perfect - just what I want in a cornbread. Moist, sweet, just plain GOOD. And it was so easy to make a batch of it. Thanks for sharing! I've finally found a corn bread recipe to suit my needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
We loved this. Followed this to a T..perfect sweetness.and a perfect accompaniment to the spicy black eyed peas & collards for this new years holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This was my first try at a cornbread recipe. No need to look any farther. It's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Turned out delicious. I didn't have any buttermilk, so i used 1 tablespoon distilled white vinegar and just under 1 cup of low-fat milk. It works perfect as a substitute because its cheap and easy to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Whoa! Using the 5 x 9 pan caused my bread to overflow badly. Thankfully, since it filled the pan so high, I put foil underneath. It is sweet and moist with a crunchy top from the sugar. The recipe is easy and a nice go to for regular use. I would just use a larger pan. I don't like really thick corn bread, so that should work nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This recipe is terrific. The cornbread is sweet and moist. From now on, this is the only cornbread I will make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I happen to have a 10" X 4.5" "tin" bread/loaf pan I picked up years ago at a yard sale (for a quarter, I think). Given the concerns raised by other reviewers about overflow, I decided to back this recipe in my "super-sized" bread pan. It filled it nicely (leaving me to wonder how my oven floor would have fared, had I used the standard (and called-for) 5 X 9 pan. The recipe is easy, quick, and uses a minimum of tools and pans. It does bake up nicely and has a nice corn flavor. It is a tad sweet for my taste, though. I may cut the sugar back a bit next time. Curious that the recipe doesn't call for eggs, which may appeal to certain folk, but which made for a somewhat less "rich" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I was out of eggs and needed a recipe that didn't include them. This was a great one!! They perfectly complimented my chili tonight, just the right amount of sweetness to go with the mild spiciness. I used a square baking dish instead of a loaf pan and baked it for an hour which was my plan from the beginning and was glad I did after reading other reviews of the mixture overflowing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This cornbread is so good! I split the ingrediants in half. I didn't have buttermilk so I used yogurt. It was very moistbAnd let me tell you it taste way better than jiffy. Will definitely add this to my collection of recipes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States