Sweet Cornbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I found this recipe while searching around on here for a cornbread recipe to make for my husband. I noticed he purchased slices of cornbread from a local gas station (now how sad is that?), and my southern pride was a bit bruised when he told me he preferred it over my own. I was like okay, we'll see. I found this recipe and didn't hesitate to make it. After he had a slice, he loved it, and proceeded to eat more and more of it 'til he was practically stuffed! LOL Needless to say, I was so happy, and my pride was restored! LOL I do agree with the review of 'Doree' in that it was also a bit too sweet for my taste, too, but I had to give it five stars as it was such a hit with my husband and my children! Thanks so much for this recipe! Judging my family's reaction to it, I'm sure I'll be revisiting it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This is exactly what I was looking for. It's light, fluffy, and sweet. No, it's not your traditional cornbread, but if you're looking for a cornbread that you can butter and eat without anything else then this is it. Don't try it if you're diabetic or on a diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I love this recipe - I am of the sweet cornbread persuasion. I made it as written the first time and give it 5 stars, however, I've made it several more times and this is what I do now: I use 2/3 cup unsweetened apple sauce and 1/3 cup oil and totally skip the butter, I use only 1 cup of sugar. With these 3 minor changes I just love this cake! It's still sweet, but just a little less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Tweeked it a bit and this was a HIT! I changed the following..used 2c. med. grind Bob Red Mill Corn Meal, 2c. flour, 1c. melted butter, cut milk to 2c and added 1 can Cream Style Corn. Very moist, truly a cross between corn bread and corn pudding. Might even try to up the milk to 2 1/4c for additional moisture. The med. grind gives it some crunchy corn, adding to uniqueness & texture. Looked a long time, this is FINALLY A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
We loved this. i only like very sweet cornbread and this is the best ive ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My family LOVES this sweet cornbread.. YUMMY!!!! adding this one as a perm. side dish in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
The best cornbread I have ever made. Hands down. Family staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AppleCiderMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
After trying a few other cornbread recipes, this is the one I am sticking with. I made no adjustments. It was sweet, moist and absolutely delicious. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hippysue

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is great!! My 8yr old picky eater even loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesepleese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This is the best cornbread. I have made it several times and everyone loves it! I've yet to make it with the honey and it still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States