Sweet Cornbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Very nice. No vegetable oil because I used most of it to fry chicken, so I used all butter. I also used buttermilk. Even when I cut the recipe in half, it baked up beautifully. Thirty minutes and wa-la, perfect. No issues with sinking bread when you thought it was done. And the flavor is very fluffy and sweet. My kids and husband especially liked this. I served it with whipped butter and extra honey. Thank you for sharing your recipe. NOTE: I served this with Tanya's Louisiana Southern Fried Chicken and Broccoli Salad. It was a nice comforting dinner. EDITED: I've made this three times now, in 24 hours. My family has dubbed this the best cornbread they've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This cornbread is one of the best on the site! It rivals "Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread" 'til now I thought that was my favorite. I cut the recipe in half and used one up of cornmeal and one cup of flour. It was perfectly done in 38 minutes - moist and delicous. I think the only thing that could possibly make this better would be to replace the whole milk with buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is exactly what I was looking for. Instead of putting all the flour asked for, I used only a cup and a half and for the rest I used masa (or corn flour) to give a more cornlike taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yanireth
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I love this recipe - I am of the sweet cornbread persuasion. I made it as written the first time and give it 5 stars, however, I've made it several more times and this is what I do now: I use 2/3 cup unsweetened apple sauce and 1/3 cup oil and totally skip the butter, I use only 1 cup of sugar. With these 3 minor changes I just love this cake! It's still sweet, but just a little less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Honey hush! This is the best comfort food since Cliff's chili on The Cosby Show. My seven-year old daughter helped make it and we could not wait for it to come out of the oven! When my husband came home, we had HUNKS of it! Thanks for sharing such an amazing recipe. This should be sold in restaurants ALL OVER! Look out Paula Deen! Thanks! Thanks! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordansdreammeal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I made this for an office brunch and everyone loved it, even those who professed to not like cornbread. It was very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This cornbread is amazing! :) I baked mine into mini-loaf pans, which just made it better (since there was more of a crust on it). Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
A good recipe for people who don't like corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warren

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This was very good, not your ordinary cornbread. I substituted about half a cup of whole wheat flour and half a cup of ground flax for 1 cup of the white flour to make it feel a little healthier. My 3 year old loved this "cake"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This was just what I was looking for. I don't care much for regular, dry corn bread. This was very moist and sweet. I did add a half a can of corn, drained. (15 oz can) and I didn't have enough milk, so I used 1 1/2 C evaporated milk and 1 C water instead of the milk. YUMMY! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States