Sweet Cornbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Its good, but not great...needs a little something for the flavor, its a little bland. Definitely not as good as Trader Joes cornbread....maybe some creamed corn could be added or substituted for some oil or milk for a more corn flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Wonderful recipe! Cornbread is dense, rich, and moist - a real winner! I have made this about six times in the past two months and am never disappointed! HINT: Even though the baking time (45 min.) may have passed, and the bread may have cracked, BE SURE TO TEST FOR DONENESS! A wet toothpick means 5-10 more minutes, at which time all of the sugars will turn to a deep golden brown and your finished product will be perfect. I use safflower oil (available Whole Foods) for this recipe. Thanks for the corn bread I have wanted to find for 30 years! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I didn't have much luck with this particular recipe and I followed it fairly religiously. However, I did use a 9x9 glass pan instead of the larger 9x13, the latter of which was called-for in the recipe. Consequently, the mixture was a bit deeper than usual going into the oven, and I think that was the problem. I cooked it for over 60-minutes at 375, but the inside was still like pudding - way, way too soft. I'm gonna try it again tomorrow with the proper pan size and I think that'll solve the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Stewart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
It was just okay. Great texture but not much flavor. Still looking for that perfect cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Really moist, not to sweet and the flavor of the honey just makes this the best cornbread I ever made! ! Easy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Love this. It doesn't last long though. Starts to taste funny after 2 days or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
We love this cornbread my husband loves the left Overs for breakfast. I wanted to make corn muffins so I decided to use this recipe I omitted the sugar used 2 1/2 cups of flour and 1 1/2 cups of cornmeal they came out great. I got 12 large muffins out of the batter. They took about 20-25 minutes to bake . I shared with some friends everyone loved them. I served them with honey butter 1 stick of butter to 1/3 cup of honey . Very yummy. (FYI ) later this week I will make again but put the sugar in since my family loves the original recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Delicious, with a wonderful cake-like consistency. Substituted extra light-tasting olive oil in place of vegetable oil. Will probably cut back a tiny bit on sugar next time. Otherwise great, and had people that usually don't like cornbread eating seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs2him
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I couldn't stop eating it to get a pic... Well we all know who's pic is the half eaten cornbread ;) 5 stars hunny 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
wish i would have added more honey but very good. Rick liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States