Sweet Cornbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I read the reviews and used 1 cup of cornmeal and 1 cup of flour for half the recipe. I made it in an 8x8 pan - I was worried about it overflowing but it rose very nicely to just the top of the pan. I also used 2% milk because I didn't have whole milk. It was very tasty - definitely beats the Jiffy box that I usually use, with not too much extra work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This came out light and airy, with a fabulous crumb. To make it a little healthier, I cut the sugar to 1 c. (and even that was really sweet!) and replaced half the oil/butter with applesauce. I also used a little more cornmeal and a bit less flour. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I didn't have honey so I used syrup. I think I would half the recipe next time. I takes a lot longer than 40 minutes to bake. It was cake like and sweet. Mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I made half the recipe, and did half cornmeal/half flour to increase the corn flavor. I also added some vanilla and let it cook for 38-40 minutes. It was absolutely delicious. I couldn't stop eating it! Definitely a diet breaker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rij202

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Excellent recipe that lives up to all the claims it makes. It is nice and moist, unlike some cornbreads that crumble on your plate and in your mouth and make you feel like smacking your lips as though you were traveling through a barren desert with a couple of camels and a guide who speaks some Middle Eastern language you can't comprehend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I've been looking for a sweet cornbread recipe that rivals a local restaurant I love. This is as good or better! Made it exactly as the recipe states. Took it to a chili/soup potluck and it was devoured! So many rave reviews and everyone wants the recipe! This will be my new go-to recipe. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olney, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I have made this many many times. I do add 1/2 cup more cornmeal, reducing flour by 1/2 cup. Its a favorite in my family. Terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blueberry Sunshine
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Yowza damndoozle! This is good cornbread cake! Delicious. I halved the recipe as I was only cooking for two. And it turns out, I only had 1 egg so I added a little more butter and oil. I used a small 6" (?) iron skillet for baking using a little oil to coat and after pouring in the batter I heated up the skillet a tad on the burner before putting in the oven for 35 minutes.... I can't wait to have some with butter and honey and strong coffee with heavy cream in the morning. Yum! You gotta try this if you like a sweeter cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueberry Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I didn't have honey, so used corn syrup, which worked. Can't wait to try it with all the ingredients as written. This was the best cornbread recipe I have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I love this recipe! Use it every time! Today though I didn't realize I was out of eggs and I quickly added 3 TB of mayonnaise (for half the recipe) We still loved it! It was a bit crumbly but good and soft and fluffy. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States