Sweet Cornbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This recipe is excellent. Glad to have found it. Tried two others - too dry. This is the best cornbread recipe. It says it is rich, sweet, and cake-like, and it truly is. I was asked to make a large batch of cornbread for our church feeding program, and here it is. I did use the suggested substitute for whole milk with buttermilk. Five stars and more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Loved it. I added a can of creamed corn and it was even tastier and more moist..yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Very good cornbread. I halved the recipe and I only had 1% milk on hand, so that is what I used. I served this with 'Mulligatawny Soup I' from AR and it was a nice compliment to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Light, scrumptious, best cornbread I've ever eaten. I substituted coconut milk for the whole milk due to an allergy, and taste and texture were both perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Yummy! very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Perfect! Exactly what I was looking for =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Made this tonight and it came out amazingly good. I even did a few subs. b/c of my diet. I cut the amount of sugar down by half and then used equal to make up for difference. Didn't use any butter. Cut the oil down to 1/3 of the amount in the recipe and substituted fat free mayo for the rest. Only used egg whites, but equal to the amount of egg in recipe. (Used about 2 egg whites from shelled eggs= 1 whole egg). Used whole wheat flour in place of white. Mixed dry ingredients in one bowel. Beat wet ingredients together. Beat eggs separate and then lightly mixed the beaten egg whites into the wet ingredients. Slowly mixed wet ingredients into dry while mixing. Also added a pinch more baking powder than recipe called for b/c used whole wheat flour. Since I couldn't finish the top off w/ butter I put just a pinch of honey on top while it was hot and spread it extremely thin (b/c only used a pinch). Made the top look shiny as if it had butter. Even those not on a diet loved the bread. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Much better than grandmothers buttermilk recipe!! Liked the cake like texture and nice level of sweetness.. This recipe is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Loved it; perfect as directed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 80sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is the best cornbread. Very moist, it just melts in your mouth. It's like a cake. My husband and kids Loved it! This recipe is a KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States