Sweet Cornbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
Way too sweet for a cornbread, and way to plain for a "cake". I guess I lean more towards the cake view. My cornbread loving hubby did not like it. My sugar loving kids did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
I thought this recipe was very good, however I did change one thing and that was substituting part of the oil for two-thirds cup of applesauce. Really great. Carol12
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
Absolutely awesome!! My family loved my cornbread recipe that I had before I tried this recipe. When I told them I was trying this recipe they all begged me not to! They said that my previous recipe was the best cornbread they had ever had! Well I made this recipe anyways because I thought it had a chance of being pretty good after reading the reviews and looking at the ingredients. The only thing I changed was buttermilk in place of whole milk. Well everyone ate this and were amazed!! My husband said that this cornbread was on a whole new level of great from what I had made before! Thank you so much for the awesome recipe! I have since deleted all other cornbread recipe that I had in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
This is amazing! I was worried as the batter was so thin but remembered that this is more of a cake than a bread. It turned out great no changes required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
We liked this recipe, but I made some changes. Used 1/2 whole wheat flour. I used vegan eggs and soymilk. I also used 1/2 cup applesauce so I could cut the sugar and oil in half. The whole family enjoyed. Next time I would halve the recipe. It makes a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa LaCroix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
This recipe is not cornbread in the traditional way - either sweet or not. This is a sweet cake that happens to have cornmeal. It is very good, but it is a rich cake rather than cornbread. Taste is sweet and comforting though and terrific topped with extra honey and butter. Work for cupcakes too, but not a cornbread by definition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki Root

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I use all butter instead of vegetable oil, otherwise, I follow the recipe exactly. This is a delicious, moist, and sweet cornbread. It gets rave reviews every time I serve it, which is often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I cut the recipe in half, still cooked it in a 9x13 baking dish, and it turned out amazing! next time I may add more butter just to make it even more buttery delicious. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I made this for my boyfriend. ..with some chili beans and he loved it... he said if I keep cooking like this he will marry me... lol ..guess that means he liked it. I cut everything in the recipe in half and used buttermilk instead of milk (like another person suggested). It was so moist and not overly sweet, which was what I thought because of the amount of sugar the recipe asked for. Adding it to the menu for life
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States