Sweet Cornbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this for thanksgiving, and OMG its sooo freaking delish!!!Followed the recipe exactly, but i made it for over 15 servings. Saving this for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samuel Ankrah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I've used this recipe a few times! Always a big hit with my family. I use 2cups cornmeal and 2 cups flour. I did it once following recipe exactly them next tried it with more cornmeal. It was so much better with more cornmeal. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I love the sweetness to this corn bread. Made a few changes: used 1.5 cups AP flour and 1.5 cups masa harina. Cut the sugar to 1 cup. Used 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup oil (only because I didn't want 1/3 stick of butter leftover) Added a bag of frozen corn, and baked them in cupcake tins (made for a potluck, and wanted something easy for people to pick up instead of having to cut into slices). It made about 24 total. Also made some honey whipped butter to go with the cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Always comes out great. Don't over stir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahoe Vista, California, USA
Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Served this at a party with chili and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
It's a wonderful recipe. So much room to change things up a bit and still come out a tasty treat. I had to switch out a few things due to what was on hand but it still came out good. I used 2 cups cornmeal and 2 cups flour, 2.5 cups water and 6 TBL of buttermilk powder, and 3 eggs instead of 4. The one thing I will change on purpose is using less sugar. It was a bit too sweet for me, but hey - the recipe does say "sweet cornbread". Hope you have a sweet tooth if you like it in it's originality. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
pretty fair, was bland. the next time I will increase the salt and butter, than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mz~diyari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This is the best corn bread ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This recipe is great because the base ingredient list is so solid that if you want to play with certain aspects, it's pretty easy to guess what the result will be. I changed out a cup of the flour for more cornmeal with fine results. Based on rave reviews, I'd say it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kris
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I love cornbread but the bf does not, I thought I would try this recipe since he said he prefers sweet bread. Definitely has more of a cake texture than cornbread texture which I think he liked, said we should it was good and make it again. I guess that means it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Little Canada, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States