Sweet Cornbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I've been looking for a sweet cornbread recipe that rivals a local restaurant I love. This is as good or better! Made it exactly as the recipe states. Took it to a chili/soup potluck and it was devoured! So many rave reviews and everyone wants the recipe! This will be my new go-to recipe. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olney, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I have made this many many times. I do add 1/2 cup more cornmeal, reducing flour by 1/2 cup. Its a favorite in my family. Terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blueberry Sunshine
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Yowza damndoozle! This is good cornbread cake! Delicious. I halved the recipe as I was only cooking for two. And it turns out, I only had 1 egg so I added a little more butter and oil. I used a small 6" (?) iron skillet for baking using a little oil to coat and after pouring in the batter I heated up the skillet a tad on the burner before putting in the oven for 35 minutes.... I can't wait to have some with butter and honey and strong coffee with heavy cream in the morning. Yum! You gotta try this if you like a sweeter cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueberry Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I didn't have honey, so used corn syrup, which worked. Can't wait to try it with all the ingredients as written. This was the best cornbread recipe I have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I love this recipe! Use it every time! Today though I didn't realize I was out of eggs and I quickly added 3 TB of mayonnaise (for half the recipe) We still loved it! It was a bit crumbly but good and soft and fluffy. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy Langston
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
My first attempt at cornbread from scratch. The best recipe ever! I only made 6 servings and baked in a smaller pan but baked for 45 mins. Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Langston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Yummy, but it is a CAKE. I truly think these would be amazing as cupcakes...just add some cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaCate's personal chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by easy cooking momma
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I am not a fan of dry crumbly cornbread, But I like to have the taste of cornbread, and some recipes don't have enough cornmeal to give it enough "cornbread" flavor. This recipe is by far the best! it's moist and perfectly sweet (not too sweet) It is my families favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by easy cooking momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I teach religious education on Saturday mornings and try to bake for the kids dishes that fit the calendar/holiday. I learned that on Saint Nicholas Eve (Dec. 5th) they make honey cake in Europe for St. Nick (who brings presents the following mornings). I went looking for an American honey bakery recipe. I made this recipe and added a honey glaze. I received rave reviews. Glaze recipe below . Honey Glaze 1/2 cup sugar 1/4 cup honey 1/2 tsp. vanilla ¼ cup water 1 tablespoon butter While the cake is finishing in the oven, in a saucepan mix the ingredients. Let the mixture cook for just a few minutes (until the butter melts). Pour on the cake after it is removed from the oven. Let the cake/glaze cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lara. L
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Love it. My second time making it, and I followed the instruction to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States