Sweet Cornbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by easy cooking momma
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I am not a fan of dry crumbly cornbread, But I like to have the taste of cornbread, and some recipes don't have enough cornmeal to give it enough "cornbread" flavor. This recipe is by far the best! it's moist and perfectly sweet (not too sweet) It is my families favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by easy cooking momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I teach religious education on Saturday mornings and try to bake for the kids dishes that fit the calendar/holiday. I learned that on Saint Nicholas Eve (Dec. 5th) they make honey cake in Europe for St. Nick (who brings presents the following mornings). I went looking for an American honey bakery recipe. I made this recipe and added a honey glaze. I received rave reviews. Glaze recipe below . Honey Glaze 1/2 cup sugar 1/4 cup honey 1/2 tsp. vanilla ¼ cup water 1 tablespoon butter While the cake is finishing in the oven, in a saucepan mix the ingredients. Let the mixture cook for just a few minutes (until the butter melts). Pour on the cake after it is removed from the oven. Let the cake/glaze cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lara. L
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Love it. My second time making it, and I followed the instruction to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kenfinex
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This is heavenly. So happy I found this recipe. I made a batch the day before and it was not good. I was going to wait awhile before making another pan but for some reason, I think out of boredom, I decided to make this recipe. Turned out awesome. I'll stick with this for a long time. My 5 year old son will love me even more now ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenfinex

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this for thanksgiving, and OMG its sooo freaking delish!!!Followed the recipe exactly, but i made it for over 15 servings. Saving this for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samuel Ankrah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I've used this recipe a few times! Always a big hit with my family. I use 2cups cornmeal and 2 cups flour. I did it once following recipe exactly them next tried it with more cornmeal. It was so much better with more cornmeal. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I love the sweetness to this corn bread. Made a few changes: used 1.5 cups AP flour and 1.5 cups masa harina. Cut the sugar to 1 cup. Used 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup oil (only because I didn't want 1/3 stick of butter leftover) Added a bag of frozen corn, and baked them in cupcake tins (made for a potluck, and wanted something easy for people to pick up instead of having to cut into slices). It made about 24 total. Also made some honey whipped butter to go with the cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Always comes out great. Don't over stir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahoe Vista, California, USA
Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Served this at a party with chili and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
It's a wonderful recipe. So much room to change things up a bit and still come out a tasty treat. I had to switch out a few things due to what was on hand but it still came out good. I used 2 cups cornmeal and 2 cups flour, 2.5 cups water and 6 TBL of buttermilk powder, and 3 eggs instead of 4. The one thing I will change on purpose is using less sugar. It was a bit too sweet for me, but hey - the recipe does say "sweet cornbread". Hope you have a sweet tooth if you like it in it's originality. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States