Sweet Cornbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
If cornbread had personalities, this would be on my best friends list! This recipe has a wonderful flavor and texture. I make half the recipe and bake it for 37 minutes in an 11x7 baking dish, and it comes out perfect each time. I whisk the wet ingredients together before adding to the dry ingredients. That way I don't over stir the batter. 2% milks works just as well as whole milk. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I can't imagine anyone giving this cornbread less than 5 stars! :) Every time I make it, people want the recipe. I told my son that soon all our friends will have the recipe! It is an amazing comfort food, especially with chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Been making for 2 years and love it! Now I reduce the sugar a bit and is still fantastic. Tried subbing applesauce for some of the fat and did not like the texture. Thanks for the great go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I was expecting more from this recipe. Just didn't do it for me, was expecting more of a lighter sweeter cake, but it was more dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K'Lani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawaii Kai, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
What a great recipe! Like normal I started out with the original and branched out. I love the cakey-ness of it, which is what I look for instead of the regular dry variety. A few things I did differently, one is I added a can of whole kernal corn for that extra homestyle taste. I also added bacon to the recipe, yes, you read correctly. BACON! This was my nephew's idea and it was a hit. Lastly, I made some one night and realized I had no milk, but I had heavy cream and WOW! This is not something I would do all the time, but if you like to sin once in a while the heavy cream makes it truly decandent and sinful! ;) When adding the heavy cream I let it bake an extra ten minutes as the cream seems to make it a little denser and extra rich. If I just want a small change the corn it just the ticket. Luckily I workout and don't do this all the time. Kudos for the recipe!! Definitely something you can play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
It's really a cake, but my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This tasted ok, but I can't give it more than a 3...although it tasted good, it was somewhat dry. It definitely needed something more to moisten it the day after
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My husband absolutely loved this cornbread, and he is a big fan of cornbread. I just made this cornbread this morning, and it turned out to be a delicious part of our Sunday brunch. It was sooooo yummy warm right out of the oven. I did modify the recipe a tiny bit. I used all butter and no oil. I didn't have whole milk so I used my nonfat milk. I was a bit worried about using skim milk instead of whole milk, but I am definitely sticking with nonfat milk since it tasted so good. I have other cornbread recipes that I make. This recipe is so good that I am adding it to the top of my page of favorite cornbread recipes. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CelestineR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Awesome they came out moist and while more of cake then corn bread they are better in place of most corn breads. A definite must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
ridic. i intended to sub out the oil for more butter, but didn't have enough butter on hand, so made as is with canola oil. i usually hate baking with oil, i can usually taste it, and feel its slimy texture, but omg this turned out pretty amazing. effortless and delicious. 1/2 the recipe baked in an 8x8 pan in 30 minutes. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States