Sweet Cornbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Loved it! I substituted self rising corn meal mix instead of using the all purpose flour, corn meal, adding the baking powder and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Delicious! My family loves it! Topped with homemade honey butter and have to say it is the best recipe I have ever found! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by truckermelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This recipe is great and soooooo easy to make. I make it often. The second time I baked this I added 1/2 cup sugar only because my husband likes it sweeter. A must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Yum, this was great--followed the recipe to a T. Perfect with my taco soup on this cold, icy day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrill Pecere

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Yummy sweet cake-like cornbread. Very good as mini-muffin cornbread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
O.M.G. I have been looking for the perfect, most delicious homemade cornbread recipe FOR YEARS!!! And this it!!!! I had never tried a recipe that was called "cornbread cake", so I thought why not?? And to my amazement, this was so good that I ate myself sick on it! After reading some reviews, I will reiterate that yes, this is a sweet cornbread. If you're looking for no sweetness, this recipe isn't for you. Also, I cut the sugar back from 1 and 1/3 cup to 1 cup. Don't know how much of a difference it made, but my end result was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Yummy, delicious, moist, buttery, sweet, cornbread! This was so good with my chili! I did cut the recipe in half, it came out just amazing! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Moist, sweet and delicious. Substituted unsweetened applesauce for 1/2 the oil and cut down the butter a bit. Cut the sugar in half. Came out great. Next time I will substitute an equivalent portion of nonfat Greek yogurt for 1/2 the butter. The crumb is more like a cake than a cornbread, but I liked it just fine. Will definitely add to my recipe favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Absolutely awesome. So good warm with butter. Made this morning and almost gone. Great as a snack or for breakfast with coffee. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I find that most cornbread is too dry and frankly, not sweet enough. I also like actual corn in my cornbread. I modified this recipe by reducing the milk to 2 cups and adding 1/2 cup of creamed corn. I did need to cook it somewhat longer, but the result was exactly what I was after. A sweeter cornbread with moister consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States