Sweet Cornbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Rises good and very nice taste, does not come out as yellow as that though. All in all is very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Fuentes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is the best fasting corn bread ever! My family always want more! Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Its good, but not great...needs a little something for the flavor, its a little bland. Definitely not as good as Trader Joes cornbread....maybe some creamed corn could be added or substituted for some oil or milk for a more corn flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Wonderful recipe! Cornbread is dense, rich, and moist - a real winner! I have made this about six times in the past two months and am never disappointed! HINT: Even though the baking time (45 min.) may have passed, and the bread may have cracked, BE SURE TO TEST FOR DONENESS! A wet toothpick means 5-10 more minutes, at which time all of the sugars will turn to a deep golden brown and your finished product will be perfect. I use safflower oil (available Whole Foods) for this recipe. Thanks for the corn bread I have wanted to find for 30 years! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I didn't have much luck with this particular recipe and I followed it fairly religiously. However, I did use a 9x9 glass pan instead of the larger 9x13, the latter of which was called-for in the recipe. Consequently, the mixture was a bit deeper than usual going into the oven, and I think that was the problem. I cooked it for over 60-minutes at 375, but the inside was still like pudding - way, way too soft. I'm gonna try it again tomorrow with the proper pan size and I think that'll solve the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Stewart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
It was just okay. Great texture but not much flavor. Still looking for that perfect cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Really moist, not to sweet and the flavor of the honey just makes this the best cornbread I ever made! ! Easy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
AMAZING RECIPE!!! My Husband loves it I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
We love this cornbread my husband loves the left Overs for breakfast. I wanted to make corn muffins so I decided to use this recipe I omitted the sugar used 2 1/2 cups of flour and 1 1/2 cups of cornmeal they came out great. I got 12 large muffins out of the batter. They took about 20-25 minutes to bake . I shared with some friends everyone loved them. I served them with honey butter 1 stick of butter to 1/3 cup of honey . Very yummy. (FYI ) later this week I will make again but put the sugar in since my family loves the original recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Delicious, with a wonderful cake-like consistency. Substituted extra light-tasting olive oil in place of vegetable oil. Will probably cut back a tiny bit on sugar next time. Otherwise great, and had people that usually don't like cornbread eating seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States