Sweet Cornbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This recipe is great because the base ingredient list is so solid that if you want to play with certain aspects, it's pretty easy to guess what the result will be. I changed out a cup of the flour for more cornmeal with fine results. Based on rave reviews, I'd say it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kris
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I love cornbread but the bf does not, I thought I would try this recipe since he said he prefers sweet bread. Definitely has more of a cake texture than cornbread texture which I think he liked, said we should it was good and make it again. I guess that means it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Little Canada, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This is my cornbread recipe for now on. I used one cup sugar with the honey. I also used coconut oil and did 2 cups of cornmeal and 2 cups of flour. It was awesome and my family loves it. It did not take 45 minutes for mine to bake because of my big pan. Thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Rises good and very nice taste, does not come out as yellow as that though. All in all is very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Fuentes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is the best fasting corn bread ever! My family always want more! Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Its good, but not great...needs a little something for the flavor, its a little bland. Definitely not as good as Trader Joes cornbread....maybe some creamed corn could be added or substituted for some oil or milk for a more corn flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Wonderful recipe! Cornbread is dense, rich, and moist - a real winner! I have made this about six times in the past two months and am never disappointed! HINT: Even though the baking time (45 min.) may have passed, and the bread may have cracked, BE SURE TO TEST FOR DONENESS! A wet toothpick means 5-10 more minutes, at which time all of the sugars will turn to a deep golden brown and your finished product will be perfect. I use safflower oil (available Whole Foods) for this recipe. Thanks for the corn bread I have wanted to find for 30 years! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I didn't have much luck with this particular recipe and I followed it fairly religiously. However, I did use a 9x9 glass pan instead of the larger 9x13, the latter of which was called-for in the recipe. Consequently, the mixture was a bit deeper than usual going into the oven, and I think that was the problem. I cooked it for over 60-minutes at 375, but the inside was still like pudding - way, way too soft. I'm gonna try it again tomorrow with the proper pan size and I think that'll solve the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Stewart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
It was just okay. Great texture but not much flavor. Still looking for that perfect cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Really moist, not to sweet and the flavor of the honey just makes this the best cornbread I ever made! ! Easy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States