Sweet Cornbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
Way too sweet for a cornbread, and way to plain for a "cake". I guess I lean more towards the cake view. My cornbread loving hubby did not like it. My sugar loving kids did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
I thought this recipe was very good, however I did change one thing and that was substituting part of the oil for two-thirds cup of applesauce. Really great. Carol12
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
Absolutely awesome!! My family loved my cornbread recipe that I had before I tried this recipe. When I told them I was trying this recipe they all begged me not to! They said that my previous recipe was the best cornbread they had ever had! Well I made this recipe anyways because I thought it had a chance of being pretty good after reading the reviews and looking at the ingredients. The only thing I changed was buttermilk in place of whole milk. Well everyone ate this and were amazed!! My husband said that this cornbread was on a whole new level of great from what I had made before! Thank you so much for the awesome recipe! I have since deleted all other cornbread recipe that I had in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
This is amazing! I was worried as the batter was so thin but remembered that this is more of a cake than a bread. It turned out great no changes required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
We liked this recipe, but I made some changes. Used 1/2 whole wheat flour. I used vegan eggs and soymilk. I also used 1/2 cup applesauce so I could cut the sugar and oil in half. The whole family enjoyed. Next time I would halve the recipe. It makes a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa LaCroix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
This recipe is not cornbread in the traditional way - either sweet or not. This is a sweet cake that happens to have cornmeal. It is very good, but it is a rich cake rather than cornbread. Taste is sweet and comforting though and terrific topped with extra honey and butter. Work for cupcakes too, but not a cornbread by definition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki Root

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I use all butter instead of vegetable oil, otherwise, I follow the recipe exactly. This is a delicious, moist, and sweet cornbread. It gets rave reviews every time I serve it, which is often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I cut the recipe in half, still cooked it in a 9x13 baking dish, and it turned out amazing! next time I may add more butter just to make it even more buttery delicious. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I made this for my boyfriend. ..with some chili beans and he loved it... he said if I keep cooking like this he will marry me... lol ..guess that means he liked it. I cut everything in the recipe in half and used buttermilk instead of milk (like another person suggested). It was so moist and not overly sweet, which was what I thought because of the amount of sugar the recipe asked for. Adding it to the menu for life
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States