Sweet Cornbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Tweeked it a bit and this was a HIT! I changed the following..used 2c. med. grind Bob Red Mill Corn Meal, 2c. flour, 1c. melted butter, cut milk to 2c and added 1 can Cream Style Corn. Very moist, truly a cross between corn bread and corn pudding. Might even try to up the milk to 2 1/4c for additional moisture. The med. grind gives it some crunchy corn, adding to uniqueness & texture. Looked a long time, this is FINALLY A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My family LOVES this sweet cornbread.. YUMMY!!!! adding this one as a perm. side dish in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I love this recipe - I am of the sweet cornbread persuasion. I made it as written the first time and give it 5 stars, however, I've made it several more times and this is what I do now: I use 2/3 cup unsweetened apple sauce and 1/3 cup oil and totally skip the butter, I use only 1 cup of sugar. With these 3 minor changes I just love this cake! It's still sweet, but just a little less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I found this recipe while searching around on here for a cornbread recipe to make for my husband. I noticed he purchased slices of cornbread from a local gas station (now how sad is that?), and my southern pride was a bit bruised when he told me he preferred it over my own. I was like okay, we'll see. I found this recipe and didn't hesitate to make it. After he had a slice, he loved it, and proceeded to eat more and more of it 'til he was practically stuffed! LOL Needless to say, I was so happy, and my pride was restored! LOL I do agree with the review of 'Doree' in that it was also a bit too sweet for my taste, too, but I had to give it five stars as it was such a hit with my husband and my children! Thanks so much for this recipe! Judging my family's reaction to it, I'm sure I'll be revisiting it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This is exactly what I was looking for. It's light, fluffy, and sweet. No, it's not your traditional cornbread, but if you're looking for a cornbread that you can butter and eat without anything else then this is it. Don't try it if you're diabetic or on a diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
We loved this. i only like very sweet cornbread and this is the best ive ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
The best cornbread I have ever made. Hands down. Family staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AppleCiderMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
After trying a few other cornbread recipes, this is the one I am sticking with. I made no adjustments. It was sweet, moist and absolutely delicious. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hippysue

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is great!! My 8yr old picky eater even loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesepleese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This is the best cornbread. I have made it several times and everyone loves it! I've yet to make it with the honey and it still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States