Sweet Cornbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
A little on the oily side but one of the best I've tasted so far. I will probably use all butter next time. I'm still looking for the 'one' like marie calendars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Great Recipe! I made it with 2 cups of cornmeal and two of flour though. It turned out amazing. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
If cornbread had personalities, this would be on my best friends list! This recipe has a wonderful flavor and texture. I make half the recipe and bake it for 37 minutes in an 11x7 baking dish, and it comes out perfect each time. I whisk the wet ingredients together before adding to the dry ingredients. That way I don't over stir the batter. 2% milks works just as well as whole milk. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I can't imagine anyone giving this cornbread less than 5 stars! :) Every time I make it, people want the recipe. I told my son that soon all our friends will have the recipe! It is an amazing comfort food, especially with chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Been making for 2 years and love it! Now I reduce the sugar a bit and is still fantastic. Tried subbing applesauce for some of the fat and did not like the texture. Thanks for the great go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I was expecting more from this recipe. Just didn't do it for me, was expecting more of a lighter sweeter cake, but it was more dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K'Lani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawaii Kai, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
What a great recipe! Like normal I started out with the original and branched out. I love the cakey-ness of it, which is what I look for instead of the regular dry variety. A few things I did differently, one is I added a can of whole kernal corn for that extra homestyle taste. I also added bacon to the recipe, yes, you read correctly. BACON! This was my nephew's idea and it was a hit. Lastly, I made some one night and realized I had no milk, but I had heavy cream and WOW! This is not something I would do all the time, but if you like to sin once in a while the heavy cream makes it truly decandent and sinful! ;) When adding the heavy cream I let it bake an extra ten minutes as the cream seems to make it a little denser and extra rich. If I just want a small change the corn it just the ticket. Luckily I workout and don't do this all the time. Kudos for the recipe!! Definitely something you can play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
It's really a cake, but my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This tasted ok, but I can't give it more than a 3...although it tasted good, it was somewhat dry. It definitely needed something more to moisten it the day after
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States