Sweet Cornbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Yummy sweet cake-like cornbread. Very good as mini-muffin cornbread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
O.M.G. I have been looking for the perfect, most delicious homemade cornbread recipe FOR YEARS!!! And this it!!!! I had never tried a recipe that was called "cornbread cake", so I thought why not?? And to my amazement, this was so good that I ate myself sick on it! After reading some reviews, I will reiterate that yes, this is a sweet cornbread. If you're looking for no sweetness, this recipe isn't for you. Also, I cut the sugar back from 1 and 1/3 cup to 1 cup. Don't know how much of a difference it made, but my end result was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Yummy, delicious, moist, buttery, sweet, cornbread! This was so good with my chili! I did cut the recipe in half, it came out just amazing! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Moist, sweet and delicious. Substituted unsweetened applesauce for 1/2 the oil and cut down the butter a bit. Cut the sugar in half. Came out great. Next time I will substitute an equivalent portion of nonfat Greek yogurt for 1/2 the butter. The crumb is more like a cake than a cornbread, but I liked it just fine. Will definitely add to my recipe favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Absolutely awesome. So good warm with butter. Made this morning and almost gone. Great as a snack or for breakfast with coffee. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I find that most cornbread is too dry and frankly, not sweet enough. I also like actual corn in my cornbread. I modified this recipe by reducing the milk to 2 cups and adding 1/2 cup of creamed corn. I did need to cook it somewhat longer, but the result was exactly what I was after. A sweeter cornbread with moister consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
We all love this cornbread and I will never make from a box again! I tried to cut the recipe in half though because it makes a ton of cornbread. I use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. It does not make the cornbread taste like coconut. And I use less sugar, but more honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very good. This is exactly what I was looking for, sweet cake cornbread. Make it and make some honey butter to top it. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I love sweet cornbread and this recipe is just what I like! Better than Marie Callender's or Krusteaz corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This was my first time using this recipe and my family loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States