Sweet Cornbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My husband absolutely loved this cornbread, and he is a big fan of cornbread. I just made this cornbread this morning, and it turned out to be a delicious part of our Sunday brunch. It was sooooo yummy warm right out of the oven. I did modify the recipe a tiny bit. I used all butter and no oil. I didn't have whole milk so I used my nonfat milk. I was a bit worried about using skim milk instead of whole milk, but I am definitely sticking with nonfat milk since it tasted so good. I have other cornbread recipes that I make. This recipe is so good that I am adding it to the top of my page of favorite cornbread recipes. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CelestineR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Awesome they came out moist and while more of cake then corn bread they are better in place of most corn breads. A definite must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
ridic. i intended to sub out the oil for more butter, but didn't have enough butter on hand, so made as is with canola oil. i usually hate baking with oil, i can usually taste it, and feel its slimy texture, but omg this turned out pretty amazing. effortless and delicious. 1/2 the recipe baked in an 8x8 pan in 30 minutes. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Didn't have any honey so just left it out with no problem. Cut recipe in half in 8x8 inch pan. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very good. It is more like cake than bread. I wouldn't serve with dinner but with a cup of tea in the morning it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Awesome. I followed other previous suggestions by substituting 1 cup of buttermilk for 1 cup of milk and increasing cornmeal to 1 1/2 cups while decreasing flour from 3 cups to 2 1/2 cups. It came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I love this recipe so much that it has become the staple cornbread recipe I use. The pan is gone as soon as it hits the table!! I have followed some of the other reviews and have changed to 2/3 butter and 1/3 oil other than that PERFECTO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This cornbread was a wonderful new version of cornbread. We served it with sausage and black bean chili and it was an instant it! Thanks for sharing the receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is my family's favorite corn bread. I use 1% milk and it's still moist and tasty. Wonderful with chili, red beans & rice, and soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States