Sweet Corn Tomalito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
I previously gave this 4 stars but I made it again and I'm changing my review. I tried the microwave directions posted by another reviewer and it came out wonderfully!! It tastes just as good or better when cooked in the microwave and it took me about 1/10 the time it took me to cook it on the stove. I was concerned when I first took it out of the microwave because the center wasn't quite done but after I stirred it up and it sat for a couple minutes, it was just right. EXCELLENT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
I halved this recipe, as there were only two of us, and it was perfect. It's very very similar to Chevy's. It was exactly what I was looking for. Very simple to make. I was confused about masa harina. I used what I had, "harina," which was flour-tortilla flour. It turned out fine. Very Yummy!!!!! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
This recipe was wonderful. Easy to make, but took a while to cook. It taste amazing and is a perfect side dish for a fiesta. My family didn't like the whole corn in it though, so next time I will blend all the corn instead of half to make it smother. Over all it is to die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
This Recipe was taken an adapted from a Restaurant Called Chevy's original recipe. Most people get confused with the Masa Harina. This is simply "Corn Flour" .. This Recipe is Great! Everyone should try it! Its the kind of thing that you'll have to make for a large group of people.. consider how often do you use Cornflour and Cornmeal in everyday cooking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This is absolutely fabulous!!! It tastes EXACTLY like the side dish served at both Chevy's and Don Pablo's. I made it for friends when we had a mexican night, and it was the talk of the table. I will be making this dish again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
I was THRILLED to find this, as I loved the tomalito served at Chevy's but couldn't find a recipe that matched it in flavor. This has the same sweetness and texture as the tomalito served at Chevy's. Thank you for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
As mentioned before, this is an incredible recipe! The time involved, even for a small group or couple, is well worth the effort. It is particularly good after sitting the first day. I own the “Chevy's Cookbook,” and I tried their original recipe. This one is far superior! Suggestions: I add a thimble or two of vanilla for some extra kick. In addition, I intend on utilizing Splenda sweetener rather than sugar, as my wife is diabetic. Thanks to the other reviewers for their practical hints! Get cookin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This side dish is the main reason I go to Chevys! I was extremely happy to find the recipe. I made it last night and I was even happier with the results. My friends were very impressed and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
Excellent! This was exactly what I was looking for! It's the same as the Tomalito served by the famous Chevy's Fresh Mex restaurant. Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe! Seerved it for Cinco de Mayo - great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahiti, Archipel De La Société, French Polynesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Indeed, this is exactly like Chevy's! I was a bit troubled about the lengthy cooking time and knew it could be accomplished in the microwave in a fraction of the time. These settings and times will differ from microwave to microwave, but I cooked the tomalito, covered, for 7 min. at 30% power and then 4 min. at full power. It came out awesome after only 11 minutes. Experiment, because this stellar recipe warrants being made often! I originally rated this in June 2004 but wanted to make sure new viewers saw my microwave directions because they are soooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
460 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States