Sweet Corn Tomalito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
If you never had it, it may look strange to you. But the minute you taste it you just can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This stuff is great!! Just like what they serve at Chevy's. I used canned corn instead of frozen and it worked just fine. It was a tad sweeter than I like, maybe due to the corn which was itself quite sweet. I'll cut the sugar down next time. I also think I'll cut the butter in half to make it a bit healthier. 5T seemed excessive. Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
I halved this recipe, as there were only two of us, and it was perfect. It's very very similar to Chevy's. It was exactly what I was looking for. Very simple to make. I was confused about masa harina. I used what I had, "harina," which was flour-tortilla flour. It turned out fine. Very Yummy!!!!! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
This recipe was wonderful. Easy to make, but took a while to cook. It taste amazing and is a perfect side dish for a fiesta. My family didn't like the whole corn in it though, so next time I will blend all the corn instead of half to make it smother. Over all it is to die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
This Recipe was taken an adapted from a Restaurant Called Chevy's original recipe. Most people get confused with the Masa Harina. This is simply "Corn Flour" .. This Recipe is Great! Everyone should try it! Its the kind of thing that you'll have to make for a large group of people.. consider how often do you use Cornflour and Cornmeal in everyday cooking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This is absolutely fabulous!!! It tastes EXACTLY like the side dish served at both Chevy's and Don Pablo's. I made it for friends when we had a mexican night, and it was the talk of the table. I will be making this dish again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
I was THRILLED to find this, as I loved the tomalito served at Chevy's but couldn't find a recipe that matched it in flavor. This has the same sweetness and texture as the tomalito served at Chevy's. Thank you for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
As mentioned before, this is an incredible recipe! The time involved, even for a small group or couple, is well worth the effort. It is particularly good after sitting the first day. I own the “Chevy's Cookbook,” and I tried their original recipe. This one is far superior! Suggestions: I add a thimble or two of vanilla for some extra kick. In addition, I intend on utilizing Splenda sweetener rather than sugar, as my wife is diabetic. Thanks to the other reviewers for their practical hints! Get cookin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This side dish is the main reason I go to Chevys! I was extremely happy to find the recipe. I made it last night and I was even happier with the results. My friends were very impressed and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
Tasted great....just like Chevy's. My only complaint....it took about twice as long to cook as the recipe suggested. Other than that, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States