Sweet Corn Tomalito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I did not understand the cooking directions at all! It sounded like put a pan on top of a pot? So, I then followed the rest of the directions. And, I used a hand-emulsion blender for ease. To cook it I used a water bath method of another similar sweet corn pudding recipe on here. When done baking to thicken it up a little more, I then put it in a bowl covered with plastic wrap and microwaved it a tad. It appeared more like what I thought it should, but then it got really "dry." The original directions really need to make this clear on how to cook this! I really like anything corn, but this is just not something I would make again. Although, a lot of people may like it I think sweet corn cake, might just not be for me, as it is too heavy, greasy, and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Delicious! after you bake for 10-15 minutes at 325 after letting it steam...was still watery for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I came across Sweet Corn Tomalitos in a Mexican restaurant and always ordered it as a side when eating there. Imagine my excitement when I found this recipe. I have made the dish on a number of occasions for family and friends now. Everybody loves them and asks for the recipe. Since I can meet my craving for it now at home we also save money by not dining out. Many thanks to the Kirklands
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
AWESOME! Just like Chevy's, and trust me, I go to Chevy's twice a month and that's the highlight of my meal. Thank you to MCKARIN for telling us about making it in the Microwave. That idea rocks! Doing it with water is a pain. Thanks for coming back so many years later so we can all find out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This is absolutely delicious! Soft, warm, sweet....total comfort food~ While I've not made it using the traditional 'steaming' method, I cannot comment on how that turns out vs. the microwave method. I was completely happy with the texture of the dish and speed microwave cooking, given by the other reviewer. I did cut the sugar to 1/4 c. and it was still satisfyingly sweet! I also opted for frozen white sweet corn (shoepeg) and used 1/2 c. of lowfat milk instead of water to puree the 1 c of corn. (I had seen milk used in a recipe from Mexico.) This recipe is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I love this. It has just the right amount of sweetness. I've already made it several times. I followed the recipe exactly except I cooked it in the microwave! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie&Pablo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Pretty much exactly the recipe I've seen elsewhere online that purports to be the one from Chevy's - and it does taste exactly like the tomalito you get at Chevy's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
¡Fabuloso! I followed the recipe to a T, short of using the microwave method of cooking it (Thank you MCKARIN for the exact directions on that one). This recipe rocks! My whole family—even my 2&1/2 year old—gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyful_Mamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Yum- never been to Chevy's but worked at Cheesecake Factory and these are very similar to their Sweet Corn Tamale Cakes. I have always made this in the microwave and it turns out everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I loved it. It reminded me and my husband of cornbread and he wants me to add jalapenos next time. I'm excited to have a new side dish for Mexican dishes other than rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States