Sweet Corn Tomalito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Only giving it 4 stars b/c it came out a little bitter - not sure if I did something wrong. Highly possible. Good texture and overall flavor. I'll make it and re-rate it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This recipe tastes exactly like Chevy's tomalito! I followed MCKARIN's advice and microwaved it in a fraction of the time. The whole family loves it and asks for it often. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
If I could give this 10 stars I would! I did make a few changes like others did. I used 8 oz of frozen corn and one can of creamed corn. I didn't put the corn in the food processor but left it whole. I used cream instead of milk and added 1/4 cup of water to it insteadof the 1/2 cup. I microwaved it and it came out perfect. So delicious and will def. make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOURSTUBBS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I'm english and live in england so i'd never heard of this or eaten at Chevys, but having recently discovered cornbread, and creamed corn i thought i'd give this a go. Personally i thought it was a tad sweet and i'll reduce the sugar next time, but apart from that i could eat this stuff straight out of the bowl with a spoon its so good. As for cooking, i poured the mixture into a glass bowl, covered it with foil and then placed it into a steamer, as thats how we'd cook a sponge pudding or a christmas pudding here in england. By steamer i mean a large saucepan or stockpot with a steamer insert and lid. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Gregory-Wallace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Can be done without a double boiler in a non-stick sauce pan, but must be stir OFTEN. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
My family didn't care for the texture. Maybe I'll try again using the oven method. (I used the double broiler)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Delicious and easy! I followed the advice of the previous reviewer who suggested cooking in the microwave for 7 min on 30% power and then 4 minutes on full power. I'll have to add this to my Thanksgiving repertoire. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I love this dish! The only change I tried was not thawing the corn, which, for some reason, made it lighter in texture, fluffier. I won't go back to thawing the corn! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is a DANGEROUS recipe. I followed the directions exactly and my Pyrex 8x8 in pan shifted, fell in the water, destroyed the recipe, and destroyed other recipes I had cooking on the stove at the same time, not to mention burning me. I have made similar recipes in the oven and did not notice this was a no-bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Definitely make this, but definitely use the microwave instructions listed in the Most Helpful review. Exact results, same delicious taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAT772

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States