Sweet Corn Tomalito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Delicious! I usually double the recipe & put it into a greased 9x13" glass dish which I set into a 11x17" glass dish filled with hot water. Then bake at 250 degrees till internal temp is 175 degrees. Then I cut into squares, cool & freeze. We can then take out a couple of squares, microwave, and have for lunch usually with a nice salad or cooked veggie - YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Love, love, love it! I served this as a side with beef enchiladas and a salad. I was shocked to find just before dinner that I was out of masa harina, so took a chance and used GF Bisquik. No worries! It was perfect. I followed MCKARIN's method and nuked it. My microwave may have higher wattage (or maybe it was the Bisquik) but I did have to add more milk to keep it from getting too dry. So simple, so tasty, even with my major error. Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I included this in our Thanksgiving meal last year and it was as big a hit as the stuffing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This recipe is so good I wanted to eat the entire pan! I did bake it in the oven in a water bathe because I can't be trusted with a double boiler for 60 min. Very easy to make and it reminds me of corn cakes that a Mexican restaruant served before it closed down. So glad to have the recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This turned out very good. My whole family liked it. I served with carnita tacos. I too used a pie plate and had to cook for a total of 1 hour 20 minutes as it was not set after one hour. I also decreased the sugar to 1/4. Next time I will add some fresh sliced jalapeno. I will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I made this last night as a change from the corn bread that I usually serve when I make black bean soup. The family loved it and I will definitely make it again sometime. I did make in the microwave like one of the other reviews said and because I'd doubled the recipe had to cook it longer, but it turned out just fine. It was probably a touch more dense than the steamed version would be, but it was still tasty. We had the leftovers for breakfast (warmed with a little milk on top) and it was good as that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Great! I couldn't find masa at my local grocery store (super duper small town America) so I subbed Jiffy corn muffin mix and cut the sugar down to 1/3 cup. Steamed this for about an hour and a half and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Better than cornbread, so said my son, and everyone else loved this too! Served up a small helping on one side of the plate, a large serving of salad on the other side of the plate, placed sliced chicken breasts over the middle of the plate overlapping some of the tomalito and some of the salad, then topped all of that with: salsa verde, mexican styled carrots, jalapenos and onions like from restaurants, caramlzd onions, fresh sliced grn onions, tom's, chs etc/Made two batches, using less sugar for one batch, and more for the other batch. We preferred less sugar and, in our home, we do not consider this to be a dessert. STEAMED ONE BATCH, MICROWAVED THE OTHER -- FOR US, THE STEAMED BATCH WAS BY FAR THE BEST. It was more of a pudding texture - lighter and airier than cornbread, but still more of a pudding than a bread, while the zapped batch was very much more like a cornbread. Perhaps if we zapped it way less, it might still be a pudding?, but we only zapped this a total of 6 1/2 minutes? // We used a Dutch oven on the stove top - with a solid strainer overturned in the bottom of the Dutch oven in order to lift the casserole off the bottom of the pan. We put the pudding into a souffle dish and set it on the strainer; then covered with foil. We put in about 1" of water, checked halfway through and had to add more. There was time involved, but it was utterly lovely. Will try in a crockpot next time. I hope that works well too! Thanks Kirklands, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Delicious. This recipe takes a bit of time and attention. I had planned on making it for a large party but will defer since the time at the stove is lengthy. I used fresh corn rather then the frozen as suggested and doubled the recipe. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cerroner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Forget the stove top. Just microwave on 30% power for 7 minutes (uncovered) stir and then micro another 4 minutes on high. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Jamie's Sweet and Easy Corn on the Cob

Quick and easy recipe for boiled corn.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States