Sweet Corn Tomalito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Delicious. This recipe takes a bit of time and attention. I had planned on making it for a large party but will defer since the time at the stove is lengthy. I used fresh corn rather then the frozen as suggested and doubled the recipe. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cerroner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Forget the stove top. Just microwave on 30% power for 7 minutes (uncovered) stir and then micro another 4 minutes on high. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Just great. Never made it before, but turned out just like we have had in a favorite Mexican restaurant. Only change was the margarine, only had butter. Darn it! Other than that, followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Delicious. DH would not stop picking at it before dinner! Yes, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Made this for the first time last night and I'm already planning on making it again! It was wonderful! I first used a makeshift double broiler to heat the tomalito, but after an hour, it still wasn't done. I popped it in the microwave for 3 minutes at 100% and it was done! Next time, I'll try cooking the entire thing in the microwave. It will definitely help with the amount of dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swedishchefff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Only giving it 4 stars b/c it came out a little bitter - not sure if I did something wrong. Highly possible. Good texture and overall flavor. I'll make it and re-rate it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This recipe tastes exactly like Chevy's tomalito! I followed MCKARIN's advice and microwaved it in a fraction of the time. The whole family loves it and asks for it often. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
If I could give this 10 stars I would! I did make a few changes like others did. I used 8 oz of frozen corn and one can of creamed corn. I didn't put the corn in the food processor but left it whole. I used cream instead of milk and added 1/4 cup of water to it insteadof the 1/2 cup. I microwaved it and it came out perfect. So delicious and will def. make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOURSTUBBS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I'm english and live in england so i'd never heard of this or eaten at Chevys, but having recently discovered cornbread, and creamed corn i thought i'd give this a go. Personally i thought it was a tad sweet and i'll reduce the sugar next time, but apart from that i could eat this stuff straight out of the bowl with a spoon its so good. As for cooking, i poured the mixture into a glass bowl, covered it with foil and then placed it into a steamer, as thats how we'd cook a sponge pudding or a christmas pudding here in england. By steamer i mean a large saucepan or stockpot with a steamer insert and lid. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Can be done without a double boiler in a non-stick sauce pan, but must be stir OFTEN. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
My family didn't care for the texture. Maybe I'll try again using the oven method. (I used the double broiler)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States