Sweet Corn Tomalito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This received rave reviews from everyone at our potluck. I used the suggested microwave method and was not disappointed. This was very easy, fast, and quite delicious. My husband got barely a taste at the potluck, so I made it again the next night, and my family gave it high marks, too. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Yes, this was very good with only 1/4 cup sugar. I also cooked mine in the microwave like some others have suggested, and it was just fine. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This can also be cooked in the oven! According to the Chevy's cookbook, you should cover the pan tightly with foil, place in a larger roasting pan, pour enough water into the roasting pan to reach 3/4" depth, and cook their Sweet Corn Tomalito in a 250 degree oven until a thermometer reads 175 degrees F (I assume when placed in the center of the casserole). For a 13"x9"x2" pan of corn tomalito, this should take 1 1/2 - 2 hours, but it would probably take much less for an 8"x8" pan, I would guess 60-90 minutes. Cooking over a pot of boiling water seems precarious, and I'm not a fan of cooking in the microwave, so this is the method I'm going to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Amazing! This came out perfect! Just like at the Mexican restaurants! We will make this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
YUMMY! I make this in the microwave as suggested by another reviewer. It makes it much more practical for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mooresville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
So good with my Mexican/Hispanic/Whatever Is Politically Correct themed dinner. Next time I would like to try them fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Tastes just like the Tomalito I've had at Chevy's! In fact, I love that restaurant for the tomalito in itself! First of all, I doubled the recipe so I'd have plenty left over as well. I was able to purchase the corn flour at my usual grocery store. I followed the advice of many of the previous posters about using the microwave however, I definitely had to cook mine for longer than was suggested. I believe you'll just have to play around with whatever works. The end result is a little grainy and a little dry... but quite honestly its delicious! I will definitely be making this again and I'm sure it'll get better the more I learn about my microwave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Cooking method made all the difference for me. The first time I made it, I used the microwave. I wasn't impressed because it was grainy and dry. This time, I placed tin foil in the bottom of a pasta pot, placed the tomalito on top of the foil and then placed the pasta pot into a larger pot with simmering hot water and then covered it with the pan lid. It was moist, cooked well and delicious with the stovetop method. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Very tasty, indeed! Very similar to Chevy's version. You can get masa harina (corn flour) in the Hispanic section of any grocery store I've been to. I've made this recipe a few times, the last time I followed it exactly. The amount of sugar is necessary if you want this to be a sweet desert sort of thing. I think next time I'll cut the margarine in half, though-- it's really not necessary, and it'll be a lot healthier that way. It was slightly overcooked at 7 minutes 30% power, 4 minutes 100% power in my 1100 watt microwave. Next time I'm going to do 7 minutes 30% power, 3 minutes 100%-- I think that will turn out perfectly. Delicious recipe, thanks for posting, TheKirklands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
The first time I made this, I made it as directed and still wasn't cooked through after 75 minutes. I had to finish it in the microwave. The next time I made it, I used the microwave (covered with press n seal). I set it at 500watts for 5 minutes then full power for 2.5 minutes. Stirring between cycles. It's so easy and tastes great. Never have left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States