Sweet Corn Tomalito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I used the microwave method because I wanted to make this quickly. I was very excited when I first tried it. This is going to be added to my Taco and nacho nights. My husband was thrilled because he loves it at Chevy's. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Made this for dinner tonight. I was skeptical - but I read lots of reviews, and it turned out just like what I get at my neighborhood Chevy's! I didn't want to run out for masa harina, so I took a chance and used regular ol' flour, and it was fine. I used 1 can of corn, drained, using the liquid in place of the water. Cooked in the microwave tightly covered for 3 sets of 3 minutes, stirring really well in between, and then finished in the oven tightly covered for about 10 minutes. Also used butter and cream for the margarine and milk. Thanks for a great recipe, we loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very Good recipe and so easy. Used others advice and microwaved- it turned out perfectly (7 minutes at 30% and 4 at 100%). We have already made it two times in three days. Also...used instant corn flour- it was acould find. Just like Sweet Corn Tamale Cakes from Cheesecake Factory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was a great hit! I made it for a mexican themed dinner party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I am a tomalito-only eater at Chevys and I don't think I will ever need to go back now! I tweaked the recipe a bit, based on other reviewers, as well. I like my tomalito wetter and almost raw tasting (like they have it at Chevys). So, I cooked mine on power 3 for 9 minutes and cooked on full power for 1-2 minutes. That gave the best consistency. I also added about 1/4 milk, to make it more moist. And, I also put 3/4 of the corn in the blender, that makes for less corniness. Since I found this recipe, I've tried it 5 times, changing little things here and there. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This is SO good and easy to make. I used other's suggestions to cook in the microwave and did just that. I had to cook it a little longer than 11 min, but it turned out beautifully! A big hit at our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is a wonderfull dish I love to eat on it's own sometimes. It is nice and moist and great flavor. Reminds me of a certain resturants. side :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantel Beinish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Awesome! Tastes just like Chevy's (formerly Rio Bravo) tomalito. I used the microwave too. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Over the years, I've tried to locate a recipe for the tomalito they serve at Chevy's, and at last I've found it. I always asked for a side of tomalito if my dish didn't come with it, so I m just thrilled. Putting it in the microwave definitely worked and obviously reduces the cooking time considerably. An excellent recipe and one that I'll make regularly from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Great recipes my little one loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States