Sweet Corn Tomalito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Very GOod! Worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Used the microwave version people suggested. Can definitely cut a lot of the butter and sugar out and maybe even add more corn for a healthier version and its just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I used the microwave method because I wanted to make this quickly. I was very excited when I first tried it. This is going to be added to my Taco and nacho nights. My husband was thrilled because he loves it at Chevy's. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Made this for dinner tonight. I was skeptical - but I read lots of reviews, and it turned out just like what I get at my neighborhood Chevy's! I didn't want to run out for masa harina, so I took a chance and used regular ol' flour, and it was fine. I used 1 can of corn, drained, using the liquid in place of the water. Cooked in the microwave tightly covered for 3 sets of 3 minutes, stirring really well in between, and then finished in the oven tightly covered for about 10 minutes. Also used butter and cream for the margarine and milk. Thanks for a great recipe, we loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very Good recipe and so easy. Used others advice and microwaved- it turned out perfectly (7 minutes at 30% and 4 at 100%). We have already made it two times in three days. Also...used instant corn flour- it was acould find. Just like Sweet Corn Tamale Cakes from Cheesecake Factory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was a great hit! I made it for a mexican themed dinner party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I am a tomalito-only eater at Chevys and I don't think I will ever need to go back now! I tweaked the recipe a bit, based on other reviewers, as well. I like my tomalito wetter and almost raw tasting (like they have it at Chevys). So, I cooked mine on power 3 for 9 minutes and cooked on full power for 1-2 minutes. That gave the best consistency. I also added about 1/4 milk, to make it more moist. And, I also put 3/4 of the corn in the blender, that makes for less corniness. Since I found this recipe, I've tried it 5 times, changing little things here and there. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This is SO good and easy to make. I used other's suggestions to cook in the microwave and did just that. I had to cook it a little longer than 11 min, but it turned out beautifully! A big hit at our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is a wonderfull dish I love to eat on it's own sometimes. It is nice and moist and great flavor. Reminds me of a certain resturants. side :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantel Beinish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Awesome! Tastes just like Chevy's (formerly Rio Bravo) tomalito. I used the microwave too. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Jamie's Sweet and Easy Corn on the Cob

Quick and easy recipe for boiled corn.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States