Sweet Corn Tomalito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I am a tomalito-only eater at Chevys and I don't think I will ever need to go back now! I tweaked the recipe a bit, based on other reviewers, as well. I like my tomalito wetter and almost raw tasting (like they have it at Chevys). So, I cooked mine on power 3 for 9 minutes and cooked on full power for 1-2 minutes. That gave the best consistency. I also added about 1/4 milk, to make it more moist. And, I also put 3/4 of the corn in the blender, that makes for less corniness. Since I found this recipe, I've tried it 5 times, changing little things here and there. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This is SO good and easy to make. I used other's suggestions to cook in the microwave and did just that. I had to cook it a little longer than 11 min, but it turned out beautifully! A big hit at our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is a wonderfull dish I love to eat on it's own sometimes. It is nice and moist and great flavor. Reminds me of a certain resturants. side :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantel Beinish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Awesome! Tastes just like Chevy's (formerly Rio Bravo) tomalito. I used the microwave too. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Over the years, I've tried to locate a recipe for the tomalito they serve at Chevy's, and at last I've found it. I always asked for a side of tomalito if my dish didn't come with it, so I m just thrilled. Putting it in the microwave definitely worked and obviously reduces the cooking time considerably. An excellent recipe and one that I'll make regularly from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Great recipes my little one loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This is good, but maybe a little bit too sweet! I would use half as much sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAGNYDAGNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reisterstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I could not wait to try this recipe, as a true Chevy's fan.. I forgot corn at the grocery store, so I did luckily have a can of creamed corn on hand. I mixed all ingredients and cooked in the microwave w/ tight saran wrap for 4 mins, stirred thoroughly, cooked for another 3 mins, stopped to stir again, then another 2 mins. It was absolutely PERFECT and hubby said was better than Chevy's! LOVE this recipe and will w/out a doubt be making it often for our "Mexican Monday" dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I can't get enough of this dish! You can also used canned corn (I used sweet, crisp corn), not creamed corn though. I also followed the microwave cooking technique other user's suggested . . . cook for 7 minutes on 30% power and cook for 4 minutes on 100% power. Wonderful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Had some difficulty with cooking it in the micro... Next time I'll just pop it into the veg steamer or slow cooker. Got fluffy and cooked on edges...soupy in middle. hmm, tastes wonderful tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RI convert

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 101-110 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States