Sweet Corn Tomalito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I was looking for the side dish served at Chevys and this was it! Followed recipe as written, but didn't have any foil for steaming so I cooked in microwave... 5 min at 30% and 2 min at full power. Let it sit for a while. Great side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Used my rice cooker. Varied the recipe by using 2 tablespoons agave nectar instead of white sugar, chopped up some Hatch Chiles finely, coconut oil instead of butter and coconut milk instead of animal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Barto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Whenever I would go to Chevy's (or "Rio Bravo" what I understand the East Coast counterpart is) I would always order extra and for so long I wondered if I could make this myself no thanks to the employees at Chevy's who were always cryptic about even the name. I wish I could "AHA!" them because this recipe is spot on! My big blended family of 7 loves everything corn, we always have Masa (we make a lot of homemade tortillas and sopes), cornmeal, and fresh/canned corn on hand. I don't at all mind the cooking time, its pretty easy to do, and being familiar with a slow cooker makes waiting just over an hour for this chump change. Last night we ate this with a rotisserie chicken and some mashed potatoes and before I could even serve myself it was practically gone. My 10 month old daughter loved it too! I will be making this to accompany many dinners in the future. Thank you thank you thank you THEKIRKLANDS, you are my hero. (Edit:Also another reviewer mentioned how often do you have cornmeal and masa on hand, well consider adding both to your repetoire because they are exceptionally versatile. Masa makes wonderful homemade tortillas, sopes, and many other imaginitive things up to sweet corn cookies, and cornmeal is great for cornbread, frying fish, and is a great addition to pizza dough.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Fregoso

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I also microwaved this as suggested and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I made this after reading about in your magazine. Let me just say, this taste exactly like the one at Don Pablo's, which I happen to love. Big bit for the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheDon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This was delicious and exactly like Chevys! I followed one reviewer who baked it. I put the mixture in a ceramic dish, covered it tightly with aluminum foil and baked it with a separate container of boiling water for 90 minutes at 250 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This makes a great side dish for lots of different kinds of meals, and it did not last long at my house! I think I'll be able to get away with a bit less sugar next time, just to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Great recipe- very close to Chevy's. Per advise from another reviewer, I always microwave it. Takes about 10 minutes, covered with plastic wrap. I also skip the frozen corn in the food processor bit and instead, use 2 cans of creamed corn, because of this, I omit the water as well.... Perfect! I have made this several times- everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This was delicious!! I used honey in place of the sugar, and did as others suggested, and only used 1/4 cup. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This is so good!!! I followed the recipe exactly (not my normal mode of operation) and it was perfect. Made the batch for 8 servings and my husband and I inhaled it. Will definitely make again. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States