Sweet Corn Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
So delicious! Exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This is so delicious! It is exactly like the sweet corn cake the mexican chain restarants, like El Torito, serve. Usually I buy the mix at the store and make that, but this is so much better. I served it with enchiladas and rice and beans, and it was a big hit. For the masa harina, I read the other reviewer state that what this is, is corn flour. So instead of going out and buying this ingredient, I took cornmeal and ground it up to a flour like texture in the food processor. And it worked perfect. I highly reccomend this recipe. I think the reviewer that stated it was too buttery, and too gooey, expected it to be corn pudding, or something else. This is not that. If it is what you are expecting, the sweet corn cake like served in popular mexican restarants, you won't be disapointed. I will make this every time I make mexican food! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
My family loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
5 stars plus! It is buttery but oh so worth it. When I went to CHI-CHI's I always asked for more sweet corn cake instead of spanish rice so after trying 4-5 different recipes this is the one that tastes just like the sweet corn cake at the restaurant! I made it for my mom's 50th birthday party for 50 guests and they all wanted the recipe so I changed the recipy to serve 50, however they all took more then an ice cream scoop worth so I should have doubled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
This is just like the corn cakes they make at a restaurant I love. I was hoping to find something like it online and presto! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESRANCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
SOOOOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
Mas Harina I found out is: Corn Flour. This is finer than corn meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Very good and moist. The whole family loved this dish as I served it with tacos and beans. I used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream and sweet white corn found at Trader Joes. To make this a Gluten Free Casein Free for my Autistic son, I will substitue a GFCF butter and use hazlenut milk. This recipe is a keeper in my book :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Ducky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
VERY GOOD! my boyfriend requested that i find a recipe for this after we had some at a mexican restaurant... This turned out perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This is the best recipe ever.... Thank you for posting this "Sweet Corn Cakes" recipe. It is very easy and VERY tasty if you are into soft corn cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, New York, USA
Living In: East Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States