Sweet Corn Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is very sweet, but pretty good anyways. I subbed oil for the butter, used soymilk for the cream and used 1/3 c plus 2 T of cornmeal and 2 T flour for the masa harina. It's very rich, so next time I might reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This recipe is delish. I substitued a box of Jiffy corn muffin mix for the cornmeal and masa flour but the muffin mix amounted to 1 1/2 cups so I used a can of creamed corn instead of frozen. Also replaced the cream with eggnog. Baked it like the recipe said for about an hour and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
After reading the mixed reviews I was a bit concerned buy followed the recipe exactly except only added 1/2 the sugar stated. We were concerned it would be too sweet. It was very good! This tasted very similar to Don Pablo's restuarant corn cakes. I used fresh sweet corn I had frozen this summer's crop. Next timeI I may add an additional 1/2 c. corn. It was quick and easy! It's a keeper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Yum! I used corn flour for the Masa Harina, and 1% milk in lieu of the cream and used fresh corn. You definitely do not need to grease your pan. I used a ceramic casserole dish because it was easier to put in a water bath. Served it with Chicken Mole and Mexican rice - it helped balance out the spice. A huge hit with the hubby and the 1 year old in addition to myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
These were the worst corn cakes I have ever made. I personally found these to be too dry. The masa harina was too over-powering and I didn't think these were sweet enough even though there was 1/3 cup of sugar. There are definately better recipes out there. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
So delicious! Exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
My family loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This is so delicious! It is exactly like the sweet corn cake the mexican chain restarants, like El Torito, serve. Usually I buy the mix at the store and make that, but this is so much better. I served it with enchiladas and rice and beans, and it was a big hit. For the masa harina, I read the other reviewer state that what this is, is corn flour. So instead of going out and buying this ingredient, I took cornmeal and ground it up to a flour like texture in the food processor. And it worked perfect. I highly reccomend this recipe. I think the reviewer that stated it was too buttery, and too gooey, expected it to be corn pudding, or something else. This is not that. If it is what you are expecting, the sweet corn cake like served in popular mexican restarants, you won't be disapointed. I will make this every time I make mexican food! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This is the best recipe ever.... Thank you for posting this "Sweet Corn Cakes" recipe. It is very easy and VERY tasty if you are into soft corn cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, New York, USA
Living In: East Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
5 stars plus! It is buttery but oh so worth it. When I went to CHI-CHI's I always asked for more sweet corn cake instead of spanish rice so after trying 4-5 different recipes this is the one that tastes just like the sweet corn cake at the restaurant! I made it for my mom's 50th birthday party for 50 guests and they all wanted the recipe so I changed the recipy to serve 50, however they all took more then an ice cream scoop worth so I should have doubled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States