Sweet Corn Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is actually a question., I will like to know if instead of putting the pan with foil and place into a 9x13 inch pan filled 3/4 inch high with hot water in the oven. Can I just put it in a corn cake pan directly to the oven and bake for how long to have a regular moist corn cake. That is what I actually want but Can I? And if that is OK then for how long and I also need the preheated temperature. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
WAS GREAT!THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Incredible! I substituted the 1/2 cup of butter with 1/2 cup of plain yogurt to cut the fat. It came out beautifully and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and didn't particularly care for these. (I like the sweet corn tomalito recipe on this website better.) The cakes seemed to have a "squashy" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
this is just like the corn cakes they make at a restaurant. Very Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This is absolutely delicious!!! The importance of the masa harina is that it contains lime which aids in digestion and absorption of the nutrients found in corn. The Native Americans originally would use ashes from their hardwood fires to the corn flour/meal originally. Lack of knowledge of this to the Europeans that brought maize back with them caused many to die or suffer Mal-absorption issues. I hope this clears up any confusion of the difference between the Mas Harina and Corn flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is really good. I love the sweet corn cakes from El Torito but couldn't have them after I found out I could no longer eat wheat / Gluten. This recipe is the closest thing I have found. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Oh just inject the fat right into my thighs! Why oh why did I decide to make this? Now I know just how easy it is to make this tasty stuff. This was just TOO GOOD! I used one can of creamed corn in place of the frozen corn & whipping cream. One can worked out exactly to 1.5 cups. And since it was "creamed", I skipped the food processor step. I also used splenda instead of sugar. Total comfort food...corny carby goodness. BTW: This is EXACTLY the same as "Sweet Corn Cake" by Lee Ann Clarke and "Chi Chi's Corn Cake" by Saundra...trying to save you the step of comparing recipes like I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Just like the "Sweet Corn Cake" recipe and the "Chi Chi's Corn Cake" recipe found on this site. And like all the others this is a ABSOLUTE DELIGHT!! A must have recipe for every home. It is so good, just like what you would find at any good mexican restaurant. OMG! So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I thought this was a great gluten-free sweet cornbread and have made it several times, but my non-gluten-free friends thought it was a little odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States