Sweet Corn Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2004
Mas Harina I found out is: Corn Flour. This is finer than corn meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I am gluten-intolerant (cannot have wheat, barley, or rye products) and finding a cornbread recipe made with ONLY corn flour (and not wheat flour) was extremely difficult! Thank you for posting this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This is so delicious! It is exactly like the sweet corn cake the mexican chain restarants, like El Torito, serve. Usually I buy the mix at the store and make that, but this is so much better. I served it with enchiladas and rice and beans, and it was a big hit. For the masa harina, I read the other reviewer state that what this is, is corn flour. So instead of going out and buying this ingredient, I took cornmeal and ground it up to a flour like texture in the food processor. And it worked perfect. I highly reccomend this recipe. I think the reviewer that stated it was too buttery, and too gooey, expected it to be corn pudding, or something else. This is not that. If it is what you are expecting, the sweet corn cake like served in popular mexican restarants, you won't be disapointed. I will make this every time I make mexican food! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
This is just like the corn cakes they make at a restaurant I love. I was hoping to find something like it online and presto! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESRANCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This is absolutely delicious!!! The importance of the masa harina is that it contains lime which aids in digestion and absorption of the nutrients found in corn. The Native Americans originally would use ashes from their hardwood fires to the corn flour/meal originally. Lack of knowledge of this to the Europeans that brought maize back with them caused many to die or suffer Mal-absorption issues. I hope this clears up any confusion of the difference between the Mas Harina and Corn flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Oh just inject the fat right into my thighs! Why oh why did I decide to make this? Now I know just how easy it is to make this tasty stuff. This was just TOO GOOD! I used one can of creamed corn in place of the frozen corn & whipping cream. One can worked out exactly to 1.5 cups. And since it was "creamed", I skipped the food processor step. I also used splenda instead of sugar. Total comfort food...corny carby goodness. BTW: This is EXACTLY the same as "Sweet Corn Cake" by Lee Ann Clarke and "Chi Chi's Corn Cake" by Saundra...trying to save you the step of comparing recipes like I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This recipe is delish. I substitued a box of Jiffy corn muffin mix for the cornmeal and masa flour but the muffin mix amounted to 1 1/2 cups so I used a can of creamed corn instead of frozen. Also replaced the cream with eggnog. Baked it like the recipe said for about an hour and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
SOOOOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
After reading the mixed reviews I was a bit concerned buy followed the recipe exactly except only added 1/2 the sugar stated. We were concerned it would be too sweet. It was very good! This tasted very similar to Don Pablo's restuarant corn cakes. I used fresh sweet corn I had frozen this summer's crop. Next timeI I may add an additional 1/2 c. corn. It was quick and easy! It's a keeper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Yum! I used corn flour for the Masa Harina, and 1% milk in lieu of the cream and used fresh corn. You definitely do not need to grease your pan. I used a ceramic casserole dish because it was easier to put in a water bath. Served it with Chicken Mole and Mexican rice - it helped balance out the spice. A huge hit with the hubby and the 1 year old in addition to myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States