Sweet Corn Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
5 stars plus! It is buttery but oh so worth it. When I went to CHI-CHI's I always asked for more sweet corn cake instead of spanish rice so after trying 4-5 different recipes this is the one that tastes just like the sweet corn cake at the restaurant! I made it for my mom's 50th birthday party for 50 guests and they all wanted the recipe so I changed the recipy to serve 50, however they all took more then an ice cream scoop worth so I should have doubled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
VERY GOOD! my boyfriend requested that i find a recipe for this after we had some at a mexican restaurant... This turned out perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Very good and moist. The whole family loved this dish as I served it with tacos and beans. I used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream and sweet white corn found at Trader Joes. To make this a Gluten Free Casein Free for my Autistic son, I will substitue a GFCF butter and use hazlenut milk. This recipe is a keeper in my book :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Ducky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
No! No! No!Too sweet, too gooey, too much butter, too wet, etc! Thank goodness I tried this recipe before Thanksgiving dinner---or else my name would have been mudd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I LOVE these things! I first had them at a restaurant years ago and loved them, then I found them on here. They are absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This recipe was such a hit. I recommend it to anyone that has a diverse crowd. It recieved rave reviews from all of my vegetarian friends. It is also a new twist on cornbread...you'll love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
Mas Harina I found out is: Corn Flour. This is finer than corn meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
SOOOOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
This is just like the corn cakes they make at a restaurant I love. I was hoping to find something like it online and presto! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESRANCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-49 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States