Sweet Corn Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Good stuff. It was a little sweet with 1/4C. of sugar. I also used 1/4C. of butter and that was perfect.Instead of frozen corn and water, I just pureed a can of corn in the blender. It was perfect, just like the restaurants. I cooked it for 50 minutes and let it rest for 10.Probably a good way to get a kid to eat veggies. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashleynicole
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
my dad has a gluten intolerance so this recipe was perfect for me to make for my family. Did everyhting as writen except didnt have corn meal so had to replace it with more masa harina. turned out great though everyone loved it including my dad. Baked 60 min in water bath w/ foil, the last 20 min i did no foil no water bath at 400 degrees. next time i might double the recipe but still use an 8x8 dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I tried this with a yummy broccoli/cheese soup recipe I make. My family raved! Next time I will double the recipe! My boys said they would it with butter and syrup for a dessert! I substituted the masa with half flour and corn meal. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
These corn cakes are delicious! I made them exactly as directed and had fabulous results. Everyone loved them when I served them with enchiladas, and my husband ate the leftovers with chili the next day. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Delicious!! It almost turns the corn into a custard. We both loved it, and we changed not a thing...except that I made it in a round pan. Regardless- you can eat it with a spoon. It's a nice, quick side that you can make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I had been looking for something cake-y, but tried this and was pleasantly surprised. It was a nice gluten-free side dish to our gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
OMG!! I made this recipe a couple nights ago, and let me tell you...these are EXACTLY like Chevy's!! The only changes I made were to substitute cream corn for the 1/4 cup of water, added about 2 tbs of water, and used regular flour instead of masa harina. The texture was perfect, the taste was perfect and authentic. My boyfriend, who's Honduran, said that this tastes exactly like a type of tamale his mother and aunt used to make. All he kept saying was 'wow...wow'. Try this recipe, it's wonderful!! Thanks for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moonpig
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I followed the ingrediants as directed but instead of making one large cake I made little individual ones. These where extremely greasey and you can tell in photo I posted. Although they tasted reasonable they were jsut to greasey. I think if I make them next time I'll reduce the butter and increase the flour as suggested in other posts to get a better rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonpig

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Although very delicious, this came out very moist after staying in the oven for an entire hour. For that reason my hunny did not like it. I enjoyed it rather well and will make it again with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States