Sweet Corn Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I tried this with a yummy broccoli/cheese soup recipe I make. My family raved! Next time I will double the recipe! My boys said they would it with butter and syrup for a dessert! I substituted the masa with half flour and corn meal. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
These corn cakes are delicious! I made them exactly as directed and had fabulous results. Everyone loved them when I served them with enchiladas, and my husband ate the leftovers with chili the next day. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Delicious!! It almost turns the corn into a custard. We both loved it, and we changed not a thing...except that I made it in a round pan. Regardless- you can eat it with a spoon. It's a nice, quick side that you can make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I had been looking for something cake-y, but tried this and was pleasantly surprised. It was a nice gluten-free side dish to our gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
OMG!! I made this recipe a couple nights ago, and let me tell you...these are EXACTLY like Chevy's!! The only changes I made were to substitute cream corn for the 1/4 cup of water, added about 2 tbs of water, and used regular flour instead of masa harina. The texture was perfect, the taste was perfect and authentic. My boyfriend, who's Honduran, said that this tastes exactly like a type of tamale his mother and aunt used to make. All he kept saying was 'wow...wow'. Try this recipe, it's wonderful!! Thanks for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moonpig
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I followed the ingrediants as directed but instead of making one large cake I made little individual ones. These where extremely greasey and you can tell in photo I posted. Although they tasted reasonable they were jsut to greasey. I think if I make them next time I'll reduce the butter and increase the flour as suggested in other posts to get a better rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonpig

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Although very delicious, this came out very moist after staying in the oven for an entire hour. For that reason my hunny did not like it. I enjoyed it rather well and will make it again with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I am gluten-intolerant (cannot have wheat, barley, or rye products) and finding a cornbread recipe made with ONLY corn flour (and not wheat flour) was extremely difficult! Thank you for posting this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
So delicious. Great for my gluten free eater at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States