Sweet Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Excellent. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Meehan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Very good,,family liked and very easy to make. I am all for easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACEY5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I expected a cake that was more like a pudding or porridge than a layer cake. That's what I got, so I'm satisfied with the recipe in this regard. We liked both the flavor and texture, and found was just the right amount of "sweet" for us. The cook time and temperature were also just right. The reasons it's not a five star recipe: 1) The method involves too many steps and results in too many dirty dishes. 2) Call for 1 1/4 c or one 15 oz can creamed corn instead of the labor-intensive route of defrosting frozen whole kernel corn and then putting it through a food processor with a caution to not over-process. 3) 1/2 cup is FAR TOO MUCH butter. When the dish is served warm, melted butter runs out like syrup. Alternate method: Preheat oven to 350ºF. In a small bowl, combine masa farina, cornmeal, water and cream. Set aside. In a medium or large bowl, cream together butter, sugar and salt. (I cut the sugar into the butter with a fork.) Stir in creamed corn, cornmeal mixture and baking powder. Pour into ungreased 8x8" baking dish. Cover with foil; place on center rack of preheated oven for 50 minutes. Uncover and cook for another 10 minutes. Test for doneness; when a toothpick inserted into the center of the dish comes out clean, the dish is done. Serve warm. Please note: this recipe does not yield a product which has the same texture as cornbread. It is more the texture of Yorkshire pudding. I will remake with 1/4c or 1/4c + 2T butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jamko
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I am trying different variations. Frozen vs. canned. My kids LOVE it and it reminds me of a Mexican restaurant side. The mass harina, although not necessarily named that, can be found in your grocery Mexican food aisle, check the ingredients for masa and it may say "treated with lime". That's what mass harina is called. Happy cooking to all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I personally loved this sweet corn cake! In the process of making the corn cake I ran out of butter and used 1/4 cup vegetable oil and it turned out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made this but I made a couple of modifications. I added cream corn instead of whole kernel corn. Didn't feel like busting out the food processor :) Because the consistency was more on the cake batter consistency, I skipped the water bath too. I would definitely make this again but I would make it with less butter as it seemed a little too greasy for me. Overall, I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This tastes just like the sweet corn cake that used to come on the side at Chi-Chis.. I used flour instead of masa harina since i couldnt find this at the store and also used milk instead of cream because i forgot to buy it and it turned out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Great recipe, tasted wonderful! Defiantly a new favorite! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
All I can say is AMAZAING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 506) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States