Sweet Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
Tastes just like Casa Gallardo's. Excellent! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
This tastes exactly like the sweet corn tomalito they serve as a side at Chevy's! I used canned corn instead of frozen... this is SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
This is so delicious! I prepared it for my cooking class and doubled it with no problem. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
YUMMY! My family told me this was better than you get at Chevy's or EL Toritos. Everyone wanted the recipe. I think I may try the advice of another reviewer and lighten up on the fat though, a bit too decadent for every day, but what a treat it was on our Thanksgiving table. I hope it can be easily doubled, so we'll have more next time! Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
Very good! Seached on the net for a corn cake recipe...got lucky with this one. i substituted the masa with a little flour and corn meal because i didn't have it on hand, but it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
This tastes just like the Sweet Corn Cake served in Mexican restaurants. It does seem a bit heavy with the butter--I will cut it down in the future. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
Thanks for the delicious recipe!! My husband and I loved it--and it was so simple to prepare. We will definitely be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
This was exactly like what you get at a restaurant. I used fresh corn. It is also really good cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2001
Like someone else who reviewed this recipe, I was looking for something that tastes like Chevy's sweet corn tomalito... and this is it! It's fabulous!Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
This was SO good. I might decrease the butter next time. I did like it the way it was but we need to cut out some of the fat. It was so easy to make. My picky daughter whom is 8 loved it. It reminded me of El Toritos cone pones from my child hood. Thanks for a great recipe. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States