Sweet Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I've made this corn cake many times and I absolutely love it. It is especially delicious on top of chilli. I always double the recipe becuase it goes FAST. I've made some changes that make it even yummier and easier to prepare. I can't find masa harina so I always use all-purpose flour. Instead of water I use one 8.5 ounce can creamed corn. I don't bother processing the thawed corn -- it's perfect just thrown in. Also, I mix everything in one bowl -- much less mess and it turns out just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
360 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This turned out great with a few modifications...mostly to make it healthier. I used 1/4 c of butter (recipe calls for 1/2 c) and that was plenty. Instead of 1/3 c of sugar I used 1/4 c Splenda, perfectly sweet enough. I used 1/3 c all-purpose flour plus 1 T cornmeal in substitution of 1/3 c masa harina. I used canned corn, which I did pulse in the blender with a little cream, though I don't think that is necessary if you don't want to do so. I would have used creamed corn but I didn't have any. I baked it in an 11X7 b/c I thought that fit into the 13X9 water bath easier. Turned out just the restaurant...probably healthier though. Will make again, probably double the recipe though so the pieces are thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
319 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I used less butter and just ground up some corn meal for the masa harina, and it turned out great. It was meant to be for dessert, but my gang didn't want to wait! We'll definitely be makign this again. Note: Make sure to read all the directions before you start - I made the mistake of putting the mixture into a pan that would not fit into any of my other baking dishes, so I had to move it to a smaller one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Loved it! I used cream corn and Canned corn and left out the cream. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
YUMMY! My family told me this was better than you get at Chevy's or EL Toritos. Everyone wanted the recipe. I think I may try the advice of another reviewer and lighten up on the fat though, a bit too decadent for every day, but what a treat it was on our Thanksgiving table. I hope it can be easily doubled, so we'll have more next time! Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
This is wonderful! It reminds me of what you get at Don Pablo's. I couldn't find any of the masa harina except in a 10 lb bag and that was too much. I did what a previous reviewer did and used a little bit of flour. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
Got alot of raves--"just like our favorite mexican chain"--Flavor was great, but it had a little too much corn for my taste--will reduce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
My whole family loved this dish. I used milk instead of heavy cream. We will have this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
This tastes exactly like the sweet corn tomalito they serve as a side at Chevy's! I used canned corn instead of frozen... this is SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
This recipe has just hit the top ten in my list of Favorites! I had been trying to figure out a way to duplicate Casa Gallardo's recipe and this one is it!!! Perfect! A definate crowd pleaser!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DZMOMX2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States