Sweet Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Changed a bit, but was delish. Don't know what masa havina is either. Mixed softened butter and a can of cream corn. Did 1/4 c of white corn meal instead of masa havina. Then mixed all dry with butter/corn mixture, added water and cup of shredded colby cheddar. Baked in casserole with cover and served with chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Delicious! Served it with carnitas and it was gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Not as "cakey" as I was expecting it to be. It's not bad, but I feel like it should have been a little more puffy. Was good, will make again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This is the best side dish to a Mexican meal. There is never any left. It is worth the time it takes to bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I used the suggested alteration of using creamed corn instead of processed frozen corn and whipping cream (because I'm too lazy to bust out the processor!), and it still worked like a dream. Just like El Torito's corn cake, which they don't seem to know about in the PNW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Hickman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I made this exactly as writen except using canned corn instead of frozen. I was expecting it to be a bit creamier so I think I'll use canned corn next time and omit the whipping cream. It was still really, really good! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I wasn't totally impressed. They were ok but there was a major lack of flavor. Most likely won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWifeMomNurseAmy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Oh... my.... word! This will accompany every mexican dish that leaves my kitchen from now until the day I'm old and senile. The only change I made was to use fat free half and half for the heavy cream. Simple delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Family loves this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HereComesGrammie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nokesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Good Mexican dessert... not sure it would be a favorite of everyone, but I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States