Sweet Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was such a great treat with our homemade chicken, black bean, and corn enchiladas. It did however take over an hr. I decided to follower another reviews suggestions on using creamed corn, less butter, spleda over the sugar and omitting the heavy cream. The taste was very good and felt light. Will definitely use again, maybe trying it in muffin pans next time. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
very good. a little sweet for us. decided to sub masa for cornmeal for an all-masa cake, which gave it nice, smoothness and flavor. also in true "Nourishing Traditions" fashion, I soaked the flour in milk and water first. Amazing! And LOVED the real corn in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wynter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This recipe is wonderful! However, I usually just throw it all together and blend it with a hand mixer, You can substitute canned corn (omit the salt if salted) and use sour cream in place of the heavy cream (I think it tastes better this way anyhow) It will cook faster if you drop the grate in the oven and preheat the water while you are blending the ingredients. With the sour cream, this tastes just like it does at the mexican restaurants, and my husband begs for me to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Big hit for cinqo de mayo! Reminded me of El Torito side dish. Used a can of creamed corn instead of frozen. Perfect consistency, will make again since I had to buy a big bag of masa harina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Sorry but this was really greasy with an insane amount of butter, and took longer to cook than noted for a dinner party which was stressful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was delicious! I have been looking for a recipe close to corn bread casserole that is spruced up and a little something different than the original. This is the recipe! I lightened it up a bit by adding lite butter and only 1/4 cup, it seemed plenty, along with fat free half/half for the cream. I didnt have masa harina so I used flour and a can of creamed corn for the whole kernel corn. It turned out very good! I did cook it about 5-10 min. longer, I think just because I used creamed corn it didnt set up fully and was more creamy. But we liked it that way! I may next time try not adding the water to it if I use the creamed corn so it will set up a little better, and then see which way we like it best. Thanks for the great recipe! Its so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Great recipe! Just like the corn cakes that I can no longer get at the mexican restaraunts that are now closed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
LOVE this recipe. This is exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACII24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mariposa, California, USA
Living In: New Athens, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Fabulous! Just like the corn cakes/pudding at Chevy's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States