Sweet Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Yum! Exactly what I was looking for. Very much like the chain Mexican restaurants. Nothing fancy, but great comfort food. I grated a little Jack cheese on top and doubled it using a 9x13. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
great add 1/4 cup honey as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
The only reason I am giving this 3 stars is because it calls for conrmeal. The 1st time I made it all I had was cornmeal mix and it was 5 stars! The second time I used just plain cornmeal and no where near as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Brock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
You could healthier it up but for the first time making it for our New Year's Eve party, I didnt want to. My only changes were to use half&half, because it is all I had. I also used Creamed Corn. This was excellent. Everyone loved it and kept going back for more! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is very good! The first time I made it for today's thanksgiving feast and it was gone quick! So I have to make another batch, and this time I doubled it. I didn't change any of the ingredients. Way better than the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Excellent! Exactly like the restaurant version (Notably Cheesecake Factory and Blue Mesa). I'm glad to have the recipe, thanks and look forward to incorporating it into other meals... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was SOO good. It was exactly what I needed to copy Chevy's. My husband was pretty happy about that. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was just like the corn cake at the local Chevy's. Made it exactly as directed and it was perfect. Family was so surprised that I could make this at home. Thanks for sharing this, Lee Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I use this recipe almost monthly! I set the servings to 24 and it fills my 13x9 pan. I did the water bath once, but it was a pain. Second time, I just left 2nd smaller pan of water in the oven on the rack below it, still came out fine. Now I just use my kitchen aid to mix it until it's super fluffy and i don't need the water bath. I don't use butter (expensive) so I just use cubes of 65% vegetable spread. When it's done, I'll add some pats of butter to the top, but not necessary. LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Yeah, this is the sweet corn cake you love from your fave tex-mex restaraunt! I always double because the recipe really is better suited to feed 4 instead of 6. It's totally ok to sub milk for the cream. There's always been something just a tad off about it though so next time I'll sub flour instead of masa harina to see if that helps, but great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States