Sweet Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I was looking for a copycat recipe for the sweet corn cake you get at El Torito Mexican restaurants and I found it with this! I absolutely love this side dish. The flavor is phenomenal. Usually I make a creamed corn casserole for Thanksgiving, but I am skipping it this year and I am going to have to make this instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandilynn7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
JUST like the sweet corn cake I remember from El Torito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I was looking for a recipe that was similar to one at my favorite Mexican restaurant's corn cakes and this is it! It is time consuming, but well worth it. If you want to save a little time, use creamed corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
OMG!! My entire extended family LOVED this!! They all asked for the recipe. Succulent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
great recipe! We always had this dish at chi chi's. Couldn't tell the difference. The only thing I changed was I did not have the masa so I used 1/3 cup of jiffy corn muffin mix. I used milk as others did instead of cream. Because I used the yellow self rising cornmeal I did not add baking soda or salt. Turned out great. There was no leftovers. :@)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Amazing! Had this with Margarita chicken and Mexican rice for Cinco de Mayo dinner! finding masa harina was a challenge but i found some organic corn flour and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by W.Newton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Very good. Just like the restaurants. Next time I would reduce the butter just a tad and double so it is thicker in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Fantastic! I made as written except threw it all in food processor and left batter slightly chunky. Served as main dish. Topped with homemade southwest ranch sauce, salsa, and fresh cilantro. Heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Mine turned out crumbly. I had reduced the fat. Next time I'll leave it full fat, add a little extra water and keep the bake time to 45 min. 50 max. But the flavor was great and just what we were looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Perfect! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 510) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States