Sweet Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was great and so easy! I wasn't about to buy a huge bag of the masa harina just for a 1/3 cup, so I used regular corn meal instead. I topped with green onions for a garnish and it was a hit! I may try using some creamed corn next time in addition to the frozen corn. I also thought about adding a pinch of honey...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Oh my goodness- this is one fine dish! I made a few changes based on reviews. I didn't mess around with the salt, sugar, corn or water- I used one can of creamed corn instead. That was a good choice. This is delicious. I'm glad it's so rich- that means you only want to eat a tiny portion. Very good recipe- thanks for sharing it, Lee Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Excellent. Everyone enjoyed this. Next time i think i may try to reduce the butter just to make this a little healthier, but the recipe is delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was absolutely wonderful! I think I could cook this about 10 minutes less in my oven (I cooked for 50 minutes) so that it holds together a little better when scooped. Or maybe I'll just make a double batch so that it fills up my glass baking pan a little more. I used can niblet corn instead of frozen and served this with Acapulco Chicken. Tasted great together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ruskin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I live in the UK and was looking for a recipe for sweet corn cake like you get in L.A. This recipe is exactly what I was looking for and so easy to make. I couldn't find mas harina so I subbed with flour like one of the other reviewers. I have made it twice and all of my UK friends have never had it absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alzbabybird

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Need to have the butter reduced as reccomended, and one can of creamed corn instead of all frozen corn added nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Love this. My kids asked if we could have it every night for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This was okay. I thought it was very greasy. I should have halved the butter like others suggested. It was pretty grainy, too, which I didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cleomobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Absolutely Fabulous!!! Simple, yet elegant enough to accompany the most formal of meals. Thank you so much for sharing. Ive served this many times with many dishes and although it is made exactly the same each time, it seems to get the best response when served with a spicy dish like chili or spicy BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I didn't think this deserved 5 stars. It's just ok. It is grainy in texture and falls apart. I prefer corn bread to this. I followed the recipe except I halfed the butter like others suggested. as for the sugar, I lessened it a little but it was still too sweet for my taste. I think I'll stick to corn breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States