Sweet Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
i tried this two ways. The 3 star rating is for the recipe as written. the first time i followed the recipe as written.When the dish was ready to serve the end result didnt turn out how i expected it to. It was kinda tough and sticky. Tacky even. The second attempt i made a few changes. I normally ise the chichis packet to make thins and all you do is add butter and cream corn so thats what i did. I followed the recipes ingredients and measurments except - i omitted the frozen corn and heavy whipping cream. I substituted those for a can of creamed corn. I prepared it by using a large bowl and combining all the dry ingredients. Next i added the cream corn, butter and water. Mixed to combine. Then i poured into the baking dish and baked. The result was dead on chi chis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This was awesome. I accidentally used herb butter, which I thought would mess it up, but it didn't. I plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Very good - I used fresh corn and regular flour since I didn't have the mexican flour. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Fabulous! The only change I made was to use one small can of cream corn and a big can of whole-kernal because I had no frozen. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Photo by Hatch
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is sooo good. It's far from healthy so I don't make it often, but when I do we all enjoy it. I've also never used the heavy whipping cream, milk works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
ah... just like I remember from Don Pablos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Excellent with 2 ears of fresh corn, 1/3 cup margarine and milk. Kept the other ingredients and measurements as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Just heavenly. Followed the recipe perfectly, maybe added a little extra sweetness, but what a wonderful recipe! My friends all rave about this...Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLoveyDew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This was great--JUST like the kind I love from the Mexican restaurants. The only thing was I should have increased a little baking time. I used a shallow baking pan and it was still a bit underdone after preheating and baking per the recipe. Good news was, the family loved it so much they didn't care!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This is so delicious! It's not low on fat, with all that butter, but it's worth it. I use fat free half and half instead of cream because I usually don't have cream. My kids like it too. One of my kids can't eat wheat so it's nice that this happens to be gluten free. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States