Sweet Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
(Shh... ) I ate the whole thing by myself... !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This was good, but I served it as a side and it was more dessert-like. I loved the corn taste from the masa, but mine did not rise. I'm not sure it was supposed to rise. If I make it again, I will decrease the sugar. It reminded me of the classic corn pudding made with Jiffy mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
i tried this two ways. The 3 star rating is for the recipe as written. the first time i followed the recipe as written.When the dish was ready to serve the end result didnt turn out how i expected it to. It was kinda tough and sticky. Tacky even. The second attempt i made a few changes. I normally ise the chichis packet to make thins and all you do is add butter and cream corn so thats what i did. I followed the recipes ingredients and measurments except - i omitted the frozen corn and heavy whipping cream. I substituted those for a can of creamed corn. I prepared it by using a large bowl and combining all the dry ingredients. Next i added the cream corn, butter and water. Mixed to combine. Then i poured into the baking dish and baked. The result was dead on chi chis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This was awesome. I accidentally used herb butter, which I thought would mess it up, but it didn't. I plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Very good - I used fresh corn and regular flour since I didn't have the mexican flour. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Fabulous! The only change I made was to use one small can of cream corn and a big can of whole-kernal because I had no frozen. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Photo by Hatch
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is sooo good. It's far from healthy so I don't make it often, but when I do we all enjoy it. I've also never used the heavy whipping cream, milk works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
ah... just like I remember from Don Pablos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Excellent with 2 ears of fresh corn, 1/3 cup margarine and milk. Kept the other ingredients and measurements as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 121-130 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States