Sweet Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Awesome! Just like Chi Chi's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Amazing!!! I love making this as a side dish with a lighter dinner, like steak salad. The only change I make is that I have never used heavy cream; I substitute whatever type of milk I have on hand and it still turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Perfect as is. It can be undercooked a little for that eat-with-a-spoon consistency, or cooked a little longer for a cut-into-squares-and-eat-with-your-hands consistency. Make it all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Missing the days of Chi-Chi's and its side of corn "bread"?? This is it!! Delicious and exactly as the restaurant used to make :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This corn cake is absolutely delicious! My family loved it, even my picky husband. :) I used regular flour instead of masa harina because that's what I had and I didn't use a food processor for the corn. I definitely plan on making this again but I think I will use less sugar next time because it is very sweet. All in all though this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This recipe doesn't make a lot so it's best to double or triple, especially considering how fast it gets devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This one is a keeper. It is moist and buttery. It,s not to sweet. My husband likes Jiffy cornbread and it's not as sweet as it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RISA COATS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
We really liked this. I couldn't find the masa harina, so I just used regular flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is a staple for any "Mexican Meal Night". Absolutely. I do make some changes though....but only because I wanted this recipe to be more of a "Pantry Item" type thing than it is as written. I use, and am happy with, 1/4 butter. I use 1/3 cup flour with 1 TBS Cornmeal mixed in, rather than the masa harina. I use I can cream style corn, rather than the frozen corn & cream. I skip the food processing step as well. Everything else stays the same. The water bath does a great job with the texture of this dish. My kids love it. My husband loves it. It throws together in a snap; so I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 510) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States