Sweet Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I really liked this dish as an alternative to everyday cornbread. I made this as a side-dish to a baked bean and smoked sausage meal. The only change I made is I used a can of whole kernel "Mexican" corn to add a bit of color. I will be making this again soon, but I will also double the recipe because it does go quick! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Tomato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Oh yeah we likey! Lol. We really enjoyed this cornbread type of recipe. We used a 9" round pan and did not do the water bath method and the results without it turned out fine. It gave it a nice crispy sides...mmm good. Will definelty keep this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
If I could rate this more stars, I would. This is the BEST recipe for corn cake I have ever tried. My family LOVES IT! I usually triple the recipe and it is devoured by the end of the night. I do 1 thing different in this recipe, though. Instead of using whole kernel corn, I use cream style corn instead. For a double recipe, I use 2 15oz cans and omit the heavy cream. Best corn cake ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kfappas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
good but i did you baking soda instead of baking powder Made it more golden and crisp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PASTRYPIXIE

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was awesome! I took the advice of others and used creamed corn the second time I made it--much better with the creamed corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
this was so good I decided to give it my first review..savory sweet I about 2 TBS of sweet grilled onions to keep it from being too sweet. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimsonclovers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Awesome! Just like Chi Chi's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Amazing!!! I love making this as a side dish with a lighter dinner, like steak salad. The only change I make is that I have never used heavy cream; I substitute whatever type of milk I have on hand and it still turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Perfect as is. It can be undercooked a little for that eat-with-a-spoon consistency, or cooked a little longer for a cut-into-squares-and-eat-with-your-hands consistency. Make it all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States