Sweet Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
We love this recipe & make it as a side with tacos or Mexican food. I double the recipe & bake in a 9x13 pan & we never have left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I couldn't believe anyone saying this is too sweet. My family loved it and I didn't buy masa harina either. I couldn't see buying a sack for 1/3 cup so I honestly used regular flour. I did splash a touch of extra cream in at the end, but it was still so good. I would even be tempted to toss some extra sugar in next time as well. Definitely a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnrichar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This is by far one of my favorite recipes! It is a hit with everyone I make it for. Yes, it's sweet, and yes it's not the most healthy recipe, but this kind of dish isn't supposed to be super healthy! This recipe is even better than the sweet corn cake you get at El Torito. One thing to keep in mind is that this recipe doesn't make very much. It feeds my family of four, but when I have others over I double or even triple it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
This is now a family favorite! Absolutely delicious! We always double the recipe and never have leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam Sandoval

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Pretty good base. A little too much butter. I found it a bit greasy. Had to change it up a bit because I didn't have masa harina or frozen corn. I used AP flour for the masa and a can of creamed corn in place of the water and frozen corn. It was sweet and tasty. I'll make it again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Excellent. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Meehan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Very good,,family liked and very easy to make. I am all for easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACEY5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I expected a cake that was more like a pudding or porridge than a layer cake. That's what I got, so I'm satisfied with the recipe in this regard. We liked both the flavor and texture, and found was just the right amount of "sweet" for us. The cook time and temperature were also just right. The reasons it's not a five star recipe: 1) The method involves too many steps and results in too many dirty dishes. 2) Call for 1 1/4 c or one 15 oz can creamed corn instead of the labor-intensive route of defrosting frozen whole kernel corn and then putting it through a food processor with a caution to not over-process. 3) 1/2 cup is FAR TOO MUCH butter. When the dish is served warm, melted butter runs out like syrup. Alternate method: Preheat oven to 350ºF. In a small bowl, combine masa farina, cornmeal, water and cream. Set aside. In a medium or large bowl, cream together butter, sugar and salt. (I cut the sugar into the butter with a fork.) Stir in creamed corn, cornmeal mixture and baking powder. Pour into ungreased 8x8" baking dish. Cover with foil; place on center rack of preheated oven for 50 minutes. Uncover and cook for another 10 minutes. Test for doneness; when a toothpick inserted into the center of the dish comes out clean, the dish is done. Serve warm. Please note: this recipe does not yield a product which has the same texture as cornbread. It is more the texture of Yorkshire pudding. I will remake with 1/4c or 1/4c + 2T butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jamko
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I am trying different variations. Frozen vs. canned. My kids LOVE it and it reminds me of a Mexican restaurant side. The mass harina, although not necessarily named that, can be found in your grocery Mexican food aisle, check the ingredients for masa and it may say "treated with lime". That's what mass harina is called. Happy cooking to all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I personally loved this sweet corn cake! In the process of making the corn cake I ran out of butter and used 1/4 cup vegetable oil and it turned out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States