Sweet Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SavvyTech
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Yummy in my tummy! I have made this twice in the last week. The first time I made it as the recipe is written and it was good. The second time I made it I followed one of the reviewers advice and that was to add creamed corn and that made it fantastic! Here is what I did different; I added 1 entire can of creamed corn to the egg, milk, butter and sour cream, but instead of using an entire cup of sour cream I cut it down to 1/4 cup. This makes the cornbread increadibly moist. The recipe truly is good as is, but I thought that the creamed corn made it outstanding. Thank you for the delicious recipe, Virginia Hanker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Best corn bread ever! I doubled the recipe, but only used 1 c sour cream and added a can of creamed corn. YUM! I also used more sugar as suggested by others. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This is the BEST cornbread I have ever had! It is my new go-to recipe for traditional (yet GREAT!!) cornbread. Cornbread is often overlooked in a menu as a whole. It is easy to make merely average cornbread and get away with it, because it is not the feature dish of the meal. I suggest spending a couple extra minutes and putting some TLC into your cornbread... with this recipe! The texture is what sets this recipe apart from others I have tried. It is fluffy, while at the same time thick, and incredibly moist. Additionally, the recipe was quick and easy. If you want excellent cornbread, you have to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grundy Center, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I was looking for a sweet cornbread like the type I used to eat growing up in the South. This by far exceeded my expectations. I used buttermilk instead of milk, 2 eggs and a 1/2 cup of sugar. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grifton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
good stuff here! I like to double the recipe and add one 14oz can of cream style corn and some dried cranberries (for a little flava). I think the creamed corn keeps it nice and moist. you do have to bake it longer for about 40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fugginmark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grvqn
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
The corn bread was good but I would like it to be a little sweeter. I'll probably add another 1/4c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grvqn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is a really great cornbread for chili. It was very moist and didn't crumble. I did add 1/4 cup more sugar to sweeten it up a bit. I think next time I'll add a bit of honey too. Overall this is a delicious cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This is the best corn bread we've ever had! My kids and husband RAVED -- and wanted more! I should have doubled the recipe! Like others suggested, I doubled the amount of sugar to 1/2 cup and it was perfect. Moist, buttery, and delicious corn bread! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This recipe is the best I've tried! I used this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! I added a small can of creamed corn, changing the sour cream to a 1/2 cup and added a total of a 1/2 cup of sugar. It was very quick and easy. My entire family thought it was so moist and couldn't wait to get the recipe from me. If you like REAL cornbread, you and everyone else, will LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
The corn bread was spectacular! I was looking for a recipe that didn't call for shortening, and I found this one. I also used 1/2 cup sugar rather that 1/4. Never will I use Jiffy again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States