Sweet Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This was pretty good, although next time I will increase the amount of sugar just a bit, maybe 1/2 cup? Be sure to use fine cornmeal also--I used coarse-ground cornmeal, and while the taste was great, it felt like I was chewing on sand! My mistake! Instead of a 8" square baking dish, baked it in a 8" cast iron skillet for about 25-30 minutes and it turned out great! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I loved this recipe. It was moist and perfectly sweet and went so well with chilli. I made it exactly as written and I only had a 7.5 inch square baking dish so I used that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
AWESOME! I used 1/2 c sugar. This is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This was my first time to ever make corn bread, and I thought it came out AWESOME! It was so good and perfect. Thank you so much for the great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Yummy, this was really good! I increased the sugar to 1/2 cup, and it tasted just right. A friend of mine asked for the recipe, and my husband loved it too. I only had 1/2 cup of all purpose flour so I used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and it turned out a bit crumbly but I think it's becuase of the whole wheat flour. The sour cream did great to keep it moist. I will make it again when I get more regular flour ;o) Very good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLIVIAC15163

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hugheston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I'm not a corn bread connoisseur, but this tasted just exactly like Jiffy Mix corn bread to me, which is fine, but just nothing particularly special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
very good, I also added 1/2 cup of sugar, we like it sweet and sweet it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was a great recipe for cornbread. It was really moist and easy to make. I would almost rank it as high as my favorite which is Marie Calendar's Cornbread. Will make again and I got a lot of requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Don't let the number of ingredients fool you, this recipe really was easy to make. It held together nice and wasn't crumbly at all. I added green chiles to the 2nd batch I made and it was delicious. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States